TSN unveils all-time B.C. Lions roster

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/CFLPhotoArchive.com

TSN’s CFL 2020 show announced its all-time B.C. Lions roster on Friday, wrapping up its expansive all-time roster project.

The program has already covered all-time rosters for the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, the Calgary Stampeders, the Montreal Alouettes, the Saskatchewan Roughridersthe three Ottawa clubs, the Edmonton Football Team, and the Toronto Argonauts. B.C. is the final team to be unveiled.

Rosters feature one head coach, 12 offensive players, 12 defensive players, three special teamers, and an indeterminant number of foundational players that made a mark on the franchise. Each roster must feature at least seven national players and one current player.

The official TSN B.C. Lions roster was as follows:

*denotes national

Head Coach – Wally Buono (2003-11, 2016-18)*

Quarterback – Travis Lulay (2009-18)

Running Back – Willie Fleming (1959-67)

Running Back – Andrew Harris (2009-15)*

Receiver – Geroy Simon (2001-12)

Receiver – Mervyn Fernandez (1982-86, 1994)

Receiver – Emmanuel Arceneaux (2009-10, 2013-18)

Receiver – Bryan Burnham (2014-Present)

Offensive Line – Al Wilson (1972-1986)*

Offensive Line – Jim Mills (1986-93, 1995)*

Offensive Line – Tom Hinton (1958-66)

Offensive Line – Jamie Taras (1987-2003)*

Offensive Line – Jovan Olafioye (2010-16)

Defensive Line – Brent Johnson (2001-11)*

Defensive Line – James Parker (1984-89)

Defensive Line – Cameron Wake (2007-08)

Defensive Line – Nick Hebeler (1979-85)*

Linebacker – Solomon Elimimian (2010-18)

Linebacker – Adam Bighill (2011-16)

Linebacker – Barrin Simpson (2001-05)

Defensive Back – Larry Crawford (1981-89)

Defensive Back – Keith Gooch (1984-89)

Defensive Back – Eric Carter (1999-2003)

Defensive Back – Ryan Phillips (2005-16)

Defensive Back – Dante Marsh (2004-2014)

Placekicker/ Punter – Lui Passaglia (1976-2000)*

Special Teamer – Jason Arakgi (2008-17)*

Foundational – Norm Fieldgate (1954-67)*

Foundational – Byron Bailey (1954-64)

Foundational – Joe Kapp (1961-66)

Foundational – Jim Young (1967-79)

Foundational – Ken “Kato” Katsuya (1980-2019)*

2011 Most Outstanding Player Travis Lulay was the somewhat surprising choice for all-time quarterback, beating out Hall of Famer Damon Allen for the spot.

Highlight reel machine Bryan Burnham made the team as the necessary current player, while recent Lions like Solomon Elimimian, Adam Bighill and Andrew Harris were honoured despite currently suiting up for different clubs. Current NFL free agent Cameron Wake was also included for his dominant two year stint with the Leos, going on to crack the hundred sack threshold south of the border.

The roster also included a touching foundational piece, honouring late equipment manager Ken “Kato” Katsuya who passed away suddenly last year after 40 years of service to the club.