TSN unveils all-time Toronto Argonauts roster

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/CFLPhotoArchive.com

TSN’s CFL 2020 show announced its all-time Toronto Argonauts roster on Friday.

The all-time roster project has already covered the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, the Calgary Stampeders, the Montreal Alouettes, the Saskatchewan Roughridersthe three Ottawa clubs, and the Edmonton Football Team. The B.C. Lions will be the final team unveiled next week.

Rosters feature one head coach, 12 offensive players, 12 defensive players, three special teamers, and an indeterminant number of foundational players that made a mark on the franchise. Each roster must feature at least seven national players and one current player.

The official TSN Argonauts roster was as follows:

*denotes national

Head Coach – Bob O’Billovich (1982-89)

Quarterback – Doug Flutie (1996-97)

Running Back – Michael “Pinball” Clemons (1989-2000)

Running Back – Dick Shatto (1954-65)

Receiver – Derrell “Mookie” Mitchell (1997-2003, 2007)

Receiver – Darrell K. Smith (1986-92)

Receiver – Terry Greer (1980-85)

Receiver – Paul Masotti (1988-99)*

Offensive Line – Dan Ferrone (1981-88, 1990-92)*

Offensive Line – Chris Schultz (1986-94)*

Offensive Line – Norm Stoneburg (1955-67)*

Offensive Line – Danny Nykoluk (1955, 1957-71)*

Offensive Line – Pierre Vercheval (1993-97)*

Defensive Line – Rodney Harding (1985-94)

Defensive Line – Ed Harrington (1963-65, 1967-71, 1974)

Defensive Line – Jim Corrigall (1970-81)

Defensive Line – Jim Stillwagon (1971-75)

Linebacker – Mike O’Shea (1996-99, 2001-08)*

Linebacker – Don Moen (1987-94)*

Linebacker – Kevin Eiben (2001-2011, ASST Coach 2017-Present)*

Defensive Back – Marv Luster (1964-72)

Defensive Back – Adrion Smith (1996-2005)

Defensive Back – Byron Parker (2005-2009, 2010-11)

Defensive Back – Reggie Pleasant (1987-94)

Defensive Back – Orlondo Steinauer (2001-08)

Placekicker – Lance Chomyc (1985-93)*

Punter – Noel Prefontaine (1998-2007, 2010-2013)*

Special Teamer – Chad Owens (2010-2015)

Foundational – Royal Copeland (1945-49, 1952-56)

Foundational – Joe “King” Krol (1945-52, 1955)

Foundational – Jim Rountree (1958-67)

Foundational – Bill Symons (1967-73)

Foundational – Ulysses Curtis (1950-54)

Foundational – Conredge Holloway (1981-86)

One of the oldest sporting franchises in the world, dating back to 1873, the Argos illustrious history granted them six foundational players versus the typical max of four. From all that history, two years of Doug Flutie stood out to make him the all-time quarterback. Flutie was also named QB for the all-time Calgary Stampeders.

The Argos also boasted the only all-Canadian linebacking corps of the all-time teams, with Mike O’Shea, Don Moen and Kevin Eiben. Eiben’s status as assistant coach also provided a work around for TSN. With no current players good enough to make the cut, Eiben fulfilled the requirement instead.

Current Argos general manager Mike “Pinball” Clemons also highlights the list as the most iconic player in franchise history.