TSN unveils all-time Edmonton Football Team roster

Photo Scott Grant / CFLPhotoArchive.com
Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/CFLPhotoArchive.com

TSN’s CFL 2020 show announced its all-time Edmonton football roster on Friday.

It highlighted the best players in the history of the club formerly known as the Edmonton Eskimos, now being called the EE Football Team until a new name can be decided.

The all-time roster project has already covered the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, the Calgary Stampeders, the Montreal Alouettes, the Saskatchewan Roughriders, and the three Ottawa clubs, with plans to continue through each of the two remaining CFL franchises.

Rosters feature one head coach, 12 offensive players, 12 defensive players, three special teamers, and an indeterminant number of foundational players that made a mark on the franchise. Each roster must feature at least seven national players and one current player.

The official TSN Edmonton roster was as follows:

*denotes national

Head Coach – Hugh Campbell (1977-82)

Quarterback – Ricky Ray (2002-03, 2005-11)

Running Back – Johnny Bright (1954-64)

Running Back – Normie Kwong (1951-60)*

Receiver – Brian Kelly (1979-97)

Receiver – Tom Scott (1978-83)

Receiver – Terry Vaughn (1999-2004)

Receiver – Adarius Bowman (2011-17)

Offensive Line – Rod Connop (1982-97)*

Offensive Line – Frank Morris (1950-58)*

Offensive Line – Roger Nelson (1954, 1956-67)

Offensive Line – Bill Stevenson (1975-88)*

Offensive Line – Hec Pothier (1978-89)*

Defensive Line – Dave Fennell (1974-83)*

Defensive Line – Ron Estay (1973-82)

Defensive Line – Almondo Sewell (2011-Present)

Defensive Line – Stewart Hill (1984-90)

Linebacker – Danny Kepley (1975-84)

Linebacker – Willie Pless (1991-98, 2000)

Linebacker – Danny Bass (1984-91)

Defensive Back – Larry Highbaugh (1972-83)

Defensive Back – Rollie Miles (1951-61)

Defensive Back – Oscar Krueger (1954-65)*

Defensive Back – John Wdareny (1966-72)*

Defensive Back – Joe Hollimon (1976-85)

Placekicker – Dave Cutler (1969-84)*

Placekicker – Hank Ilesic (1977-82, 2001)*

Special Teamer – Henry “Gizmo” Williams (1986-88, 1990-2000)

Foundational – Jackie Parker (1954-62)

Foundational – Warren Moon (1978-83)

Foundational – John LaGrone (1967-74)

Foundational – Dwayne Mandrusiak (1971-2020)*

The TSN voters had the unenviable task of deciding on the Edmonton quarterback spot. Franchise leading passer Ricky Ray got the honour, with Pro Football Hall of Famer Warren Moon and Jackie “Spaghetti Legs” Parker getting foundational player status. That left Hall of Famers like Tom Wilkinson, Tracy Ham and Matt Dunigan on the outside looking in, as well as their second all-time passer Mike Reilly.

The team was highlighted by members of both Edmonton dynasties, the first in the late 1950’s and later the five straight Grey Cup winners from 1978-1982. This included prominent members of the infamous “Alberta Crude” defence like “Doctor Death” Fennell, Ron Estay, Danny Kepley, Joe Hollimon and Larry Highbaugh.

The greatest backfield in franchise history was also well represented with Parker as a foundational piece, Johnny Bright and Normie “The China Clipper” Kwong still holding the top two spots in career rushing yards and two-way contributor Rollie Miles earning his rightful place in the defensive secondary.

Fearsome defensive tackle Almondo Sewell was honoured as the requisite current player, while equipment man Dwayne Mandrusiak earned a touching foundational nod for almost five decades of service to the club.