Saskatchewan Roughriders | CFL Odds, Schedule, & Team Information

The Roughriders are a perennial playoff team and may possibly be the biggest threat to Winnipeg’s dominance in the West. It will take an exercising of demons, however, as the Blue Bombers have eliminated Saskatchewan in three straight postseasons dating back to 2018. That includes the past two Western Finals with trips to the Grey Cup on the line.

Saskatchewan finished 9-5 in 2021 and in second place in the division, going 9-3 against teams that weren’t the Bombers.

Saskatchewan Roughriders odds

Saskatchewan Riders news

Best CFL sportsbooks in Canada

2022 Saskatchewan Roughriders schedule

WeekDateTimeOpponentGame ResultATSOver/Under
Week 1Saturday, June 117 p.m. ETvs. Hamilton
Week 2Saturday, June 189:30 p.m. ET@ Edmonton
Week 3Thursday, June 237:30 p.m. ET@ Montreal
Week 4Saturday, July 27 p.m. ETvs. Montreal
Week 5Friday, July 89:30 p.m. ETvs. Ottawa
Week 6Saturday, July 162 p.m. ET@ Toronto
Week 7Saturday, July 237 p.m. ETvs. Toronto
Week 8Friday, July 299 p.m. ETvs. BC Lions
Week 9BYE
Week 10Saturday, August 1310 p.m. ET@ Edmonton
Week 11Friday, August 1910 p.m. ETvs. BC Lions
Week 12Friday, August 2610:30 p.m. ET@ BC Lions
Week 13Sunday, September 46 p.m. ETvs. Winnipeg
Week 14Saturday, September 105 p.m. ET@ Winnipeg
Week 15Friday, September 169:30 p.m. ETvs. Edmonton
Week 16BYE
Week 17Friday, September 308 p.m. ET@ Winnipeg
Week 18Friday, October 77:30 p.m. ET@ Hamilton
Week 19BYE
Week 20Saturday, October 227 p.m. ETvs. Calgary
Week 21Saturday, October 298 p.m. ET@ Calgary

Saskatchewan Roughriders team facts

  • Location: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Stadium: Mosaic Stadium (2013-present; capacity: 33,350, expandable to 40,000)
  • Year Founded: 1910
  • Grey Cup Titles: 4 (1966, 1989, 2007, 2013)

Saskatchewan Roughriders history

The history of the Roughriders franchise dates back to 1910, making them the fourth-oldest gridiron football team still in existence behind the NFL’s Arizona Cardinals and the CFL’s Hamilton Tiger-Cats and Toronto Argonauts.

The Roughriders are also the CFL’s oldest Western Canada team still in existence that’s been continuously based in that part of the country.

The Roughriders were originally known as the Regina Rugby Club, a name that lasted through 1923. The Roughriders moniker arrived in 1924, but at the time, the team was still solely identified with the capital city of Regina. That changed in 1945, when the franchise became provincially owned, and in the process, swapped out its city designation for that of the province of Saskatchewan.

The Roughriders have made 19 Grey Cup appearances overall, the earliest coming back in 1923. The team has won our Grey Cup championships, the most recent in 2013. The franchise’s most successful decade of regular-season play was the 2000s, when it amassed 91-87-2 record. Saskatchewan also recorded one of its four Grey Cup wins in that decade (2007).

Saskatchewan Roughriders all-time leaders

The Roughriders’ extensive history has naturally produced some memorable statistical accomplishments, and there are a total of 38 former Saskatchewan players or members of the organization in the CFL Hall of Fame.

For a closer look at the all-time franchise leaders in a variety of categories, check out the list below:

  • Games Played: Gene Makowsky (284, 1995-2011)
  • Total Touchdowns: George Reed (137, 1963-1975)
  • Receiving Touchdowns: Ray Elgaard (78, 1983-1996)
  • Rushing Touchdowns: George Reed (134, 1963-1975)
  • Passing Yards: Ron Lancaster (46,710; 1963-1978)
  • Passing Touchdowns: Ron Lancaster (299; 1963-1978)
  • Rushing Yards: George Reed (16,116; 1963-1975)
  • Receptions: Don Narcisse (919; 1987-1999)
  • Receiving Yards: Ray Elgaarrd (13,189; 1983-1996)
  • Interceptions: Glen Suitor (51; 1984-1994)
  • Sacks: Bobby Jurasin (142; 1986-1997)
  • Field Goals: Dave Ridgway (574; 1982-1995)
  • Coaching Victories: Bud Grant (68; 1965-1970)