Duke Williams headlines Saskatchewan Roughriders’ potential free agent list

Photo courtesy: CFL

The Saskatchewan Roughriders’ season came to an end on Sunday with a 21-17 loss to the Winnipeg Blue Bombers in the West Final. It was a close, hard-fought game that went down to the last possession at IG Field.

Though the club fell short of the Grey Cup, the Riders ultimately had a good year with a 9-5 regular season record and a home playoff win over the Calgary Stampeders in the West Semi-Final. Saskatchewan’s free agent list is long, though franchise quarterback Cody Fajardo remains under contract for 2022.

Below is the list of players who are set to become free agents in February 2022. Please note that “N” denotes nationals (ie. Canadians), “A” denotes Americans, and “G” denotes Globals.


Isaac Harker (A)

Running Back

Albert Awachie (N)
Alexandre Dupuis (N)
Kienan LaFrance (N)
Jeremy Langford (A)
Jamal Morrow (A)
William Powell (A)


Shaq Evans (A)
Jake Harty (N)
Brayden Lenius (N)
Justin McInnis (N)
Paul McRoberts (A)
Kyran Moore (A)
Mitchell Picton (N)
Duke Williams (A)
Jordan Williams-Lambert (A)

Photo courtesy: Saskatchewan Roughriders

Offensive Line

Brett Boyko (N)
Logan Ferland (N)
Cameron Jefferson (A)
Evan Johnson (N)
Braden Schram (N)
Josiah St. John (N)
Terran Vaughn (A)

Defensive Line

Freddie Bishop III (A)
Charbel Dabire (N)
Kevin Francis (N)
Makana Henry (N)
Micah Johnson (A)
A.C. Leonard (A)
Jordan Reaves (N)
Pete Robertson (A)

Photo courtesy: Saskatchewan Roughriders


Larry Dean (A)
Jordan Herdman-Reed (N)
Justin Herdman-Reed (N)
Deon Lacey (A)
Blair Smith (N)
Micah Teitz (N)

Defensive Back

Elie Bouka (N)
Blace Brown (A)
Christian Campbell (A)
Jacob Dearborn (N)
Mike Edem (N)
Ed Gainey (A)
A.J. Hendy (A)
Tony Lippett (A)
Nick Marshall (A)
L.J. McCray (A)
Godfrey Onyeka (N)
Loucheiz Purifoy (A)


Brett Lauther (N)
Jon Ryan (N)

Long snapper

Jorgen Hus (N)

Some notable players finished the regular season on the practice, which means they are currently free agents. Among them are defensive lineman Alain Cimankinda, defensive lineman Nick Dheilly, and receiver Rashard Davis.

John Hodge is a Canadian football reporter based in Winnipeg.