The Saskatchewan Roughriders’ potential 2020 free agent list

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/

Saskatchewan’s season came to an end on Sunday afternoon following a 20-13 loss to the Winnipeg Blue Bombers at Mosaic Stadium.

It was a disappointing finish to a once-promising 13-5 campaign but the Roughriders remain a young team with promise beyond 2019.

All of the Riders’ quarterbacks including face of the franchise Cody Fajardo are under contract for next season, as are offensive stars Williams Powell, Kyran Moore and Jordan Williams-Lambert. It’s a completely different story on defence where 10 starters from the West Final are set to hit the market when free agency opens in February.

Defensive end Charleston Hughes led the league in sacks with 16 and recorded 50 tackles, four forced fumbles and defensive one touchdown. Hughes can be penciled in for 10 sacks despite his age (35).

Veteran linebacker Solomon Elimimian recovered from a training camp injury and totalled 88 tackles, four sacks and one forced fumble. Elimimian proved 2018 was an anomaly and turned into a key leader in Regina.

Fellow linebacker and West Division Most Outstanding Canadian, Cameron Judge produced the best season of his young career. Judge, selected second overall in the 2017 CFL draft, notched 61 tackles, 12 special teams stops, five sacks and two interceptions.

Ed Gainey was crucial to a standout secondary. He’s been consistent and healthy ever since moving West from Hamilton.

Receiver Shaq Evans, linebacker Derrick Moncrief and defensive back Nick Marshall are likely to garner NFL interest, which could cause their possible extension talks to be put on hold.



Running back

RB Marcus Thigpen (I)
Kienan LaFrance (N)
FB Albert Awachie (N)


Emmanuel Arceneaux (I)
Shaq Evans (I)
Naaman Roosevelt (I)
Cory Watson (N)

Offensive line

Dariusz Bladek (N)
Philip Blake (N)
Dan Clark (N)
Takoby Cofield (I)
Thaddeus Coleman (I)

Defensive line

Charleston Hughes (I)
Micah Johnson (I)
A.C. Leonard (I)
DL Lavar Edwards (I)
DL Chad Geter (I)
Makana Henry (N)
DL Jordan Reaves (N)


Brandyn Bartlett (N)
Dyshawn Davis (I)
Solomon Elimimian (I)
Alexandre Gagne (N)
Sam Hurl (N)
Cameron Judge (N)
Derrick Moncrief (I)

Defensive back

Elie Bouka (N)
Ed Gainey (I)
Nick Marshall (I)
Denzel Radford (N)


LS Jorgen Hug (N)
P Jon Ryan (N)

Players who remain under contract for next season are signed through the following years.

QB Cody Fajardo (I) — 2021
QB Isaac Harker (I) — 2021
QB Bryan Bennett (I) — 2020
RB William Powell (I) — 2020
FB Patrick Lavoie (N) — 2020
REC Kenny Stafford (I) — 2020
REC Brayden Lenius (N) — 2021
REC Justin McInnis (N) — 2021
REC Kyran Moore (I) — 2020
REC Jordan Williams-Lambert (I) — 2020
REC Carlos Henderson (I) — 2020
OK Dakoda Shepley (N) — 2021
OL Jake Bennett (N) — 2021
OL Brendon LaBatte (N) — 2021
OL Terran Vaughn (I) — 2020
DL Charbel Dabire (N) — 2020
DL Zack Evans (N) — 2022
DL Jeremy Faulk (I) — 2020
LB Gary Johnson Jr. (I) — 2020
LB Alexandre Chevrier (N) — 2020
LB Oluwaseun Idowu (I) — 2020
LB Micah Teitz (N) — 2020
DB Loucheiz Purifoy (I) — 2021
DB Mike Edem (N) — 2020
DB L.J. McCray (I) — 2020
DB Blace Brown (I) — 2020
DB Jacob Dearborn (N) — 2020
K Brett Lauther (N) — 2020

Justin Dunk is a football insider, sports reporter and anchor.