Riders-Elks start time moved up to avoid overlap with Edmonton Oilers in Stanley Cup Final

Courtesy: Edmonton Oilers

Kickoff between the Saskatchewan Roughriders and Edmonton Elks on Saturday, June 8 has been moved up to the afternoon after the Edmonton Oilers advanced to the Stanley Cup Final.

The Riders and Elks were originally scheduled to kick off at 7 p.m. ET/5 p.m. MT but that would have conflicted with Game 1 of the NHL championship series. The Canadian Football League matchup has been shifted to a 4 p.m. ET/2 p.m. MT start time, matching the start time the two teams played a preseason game last month on Saturday, May 25.

Puck drop between the Oilers and Florida Panthers goes at 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT as captain Connor McDavid has led his team to the Stanley Cup Final for the first time since 2006. Edmonton has won five Stanley Cups, most recently in 1990. The Oilers can become the first Canadian team to win the Stanley Cup since the Montreal Canadiens in 1993.

The full 2024 Stanley Cup Final schedule is as follows.

  • GAME 1 @FLA – Saturday, June 8, 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT
  • GAME 2 @FLA – Monday, June 10, 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT
  • GAME 3 @EDM – Thursday, June 13, 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT
  • GAME 4 @EDM – Saturday, June 15, 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT
  • GAME 5 @FLA – Tuesday, June 18, 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT
  • GAME 6 @EDM – Friday, June 21, 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT
  • GAME 7 @FLA – Monday, June 24, 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT

The Roughriders travel to the City of Champions to begin the 2024 CFL season against Chris Jones’ Green and Gold. McLeod Bethel-Thompson starts at quarterback for the Elks in his first game with Edmonton after signing a lucrative contract as a free agent in January. Veteran QB Trevor Harris makes his first regular-season start in 329 days since suffering a tibial plateau fracture in his right leg on July 15, 2023.

Justin Dunk is a football insider, sports reporter and anchor.