Hall of Fame quarterback Danny McManus selected for Hamilton Tiger-Cats’ Wall of Honour

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/CFLPhotoArchive.com

Canadian Football Hall of Fame quarterback Danny McManus has been selected for the Wall of Honour at Tim Hortons Field. He will be inducted on Friday, October 7 when the Ticats play host to the Saskatchewan Roughriders.

“When Mr. Young called and said that I had been elected to the Wall of Honour, it was an awesome feeling to be a part of history for the Hamilton Tiger-Cats and to be fortunate enough to be a part of the great names that are already on the Wall of Honour,” said McManus in a statement.

“Football is the ultimate team game so I just want to take the opportunity to thank my teammates, Mr. Young, the Hamilton Tiger-Cat Alumni Association, the Hamilton Tiger-Cats organization, the football writers in Hamilton and of course the amazing Tiger-Cats fans.”

McManus played 141 games over eight seasons (1998-2005) with the Ticats, winning a Grey Cup with the team in 1999. He remains the franchise’s all-time leader in passing yards (33,841), passing touchdowns (164), completions (2,368), and pass attempts (4,257). The native of Dania Beach, Fla. also ranks second in franchise history in single-season passing yards (5,318) and third in single-game passing yards (525).

“Danny Mac’s record-breaking ability and leadership skills on and off the field exemplified exactly what it means to be a Hamilton Tiger-Cat and member of the Hamilton community,” said Ticats’ owner Bob Young. “I’m thrilled Danny’s number 14 is going up on the wall to honour him along with the great Ticat teams of the late 1990s and early 2000s.”

McManus was named the CFL’s Most Outstanding Player and a CFL all-star in 1999 and was inducted to the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 2011. He was also the recipient of the Tom Pate Memorial award in 2005 for his outstanding work in the Hamilton community, headlined by his work with McMaster children’s hospital through the “Touchdown for Kids” initiative.

Hamilton’s Wall of Honour is the club’s highest acknowledgement of excellence. It symbolizes elite performance over a sustained period of time with inductees being voted upon by a committee composed of members from the Ticats, the Hamilton Tiger-Cats’ Alumni Association, local media, and the team’s TigerTown Council.

24 players and builders have been named to the Wall of Honour since 1998, including Rocky DiPietro, Bernie Faloney, Ellison Kelly, Angelo Mosca, Tommy Joe Coffey, Garney Henley, John Barrow, Ben Zambiasi, Ralph Sazio, Grover Covington, Jake Gaudaur, Earl Winfield, Bill Danychuk, Joe Zuger, Less Browne, Don Sutherin, Vince Scott, Tommy Grant, Paul Osbaldiston, Pete Neumann, Bob Krouse, Willie Bethea, Joe Montford, and Rob Hitchcock.