CFL unveils voting process for league’s first-ever team of the decade

Photo courtesy: CFL

The CFL has unveiled voting plans for the league’s first-ever team of the decade.

It includes premiere players and head coaches from the past 10 years (2010-2019). The first and second teams, each featuring 29 individuals, will be decided by fans, a selection committee and a media panel.

In the coming months, fans will be able to cast their votes before the final all-decade team is revealed in the fall. The first three categories – receivers, defensive backs and safety – are now open.

“Over the past 10 years, we’ve had the privilege of welcoming so many exceptional, exciting and talented players into our league. Their play has inspired young Canadians from coast-to-coast-to-coast to pick up our great game, setting the foundation for the next generation of CFLers,” commissioner Randy Ambrosie said.

The all-decade team nominees were determined by members of the CFL head office, the Canadian Football League Players’ Association, the national media, the Football Reporters of Canada and league historians. The complete list of nominees can be found here.

CFL all-decade team – voting schedule and breakdown

Date Position group (number of selections per team)
June 23 Receivers (5)
Defensive backs (4)
Safety (1)
July 7 Running back (1)
Linebackers (3)
July 21 Offensive linemen
• Offensive tackles (2)
• Offensive guards (2)
• Centre (1)Defensive linemen
• Defensive ends (2)
• Defensive tackles (2)
August 4 Special Teams
• Punter (1)
• Kicker (1)
• Returner (1)
• Coverage (1)
August 18 Quarterback (1)
September 1 Head Coach (1)

Perhaps the CFL office saw the interest John Hodge’s 3DownNation all-decade CFL team drew and felt it was time to do their own. Let’s see how it compares.