Ottawa Redblacks | Odds, Schedule, & Team Information

Ottawa Redblacks news

Best CFL sportsbooks in Canada

2022 Ottawa Redblacks schedule

WeekDateOpponentGame ResultATSOver/Under
Week 1Saturday, June 10@ Montreal (+2.5)L, 19-12L (0-1)Under 47.5 (0-1)
Week 2Thursday, June 15vs. Calgary (+4)L, 26-15L (0-2)Under 42.5 (0-2)
Week 4Friday, June 30vs. Edmonton (+3.5)W, 26-7W (1-2)Under 42.5 (0-3)
Week 5Saturday, July 8@ Hamilton (+2.5)L, 21-13L (1-3)Under 44 (0-4)
Week 6Saturday, July 15vs. Winnipeg (+9)W, 31-28W (2-3)Over 44 (1-4)
Week 7Sunday, July 23@ Calgary (+5)W, 43-41W (3-3)Over 44 (2-4)
Week 8Friday, July 28vs. Hamilton (-3.5)L, 16-12L (3-4)Under 49 (2-5)
Week 9Sunday, August 6@ Saskatchewan (-1)L, 26-24L (3-5)Over 44.5 (3-5)
Week 10Sunday, August 13@ Toronto (+10)L, 44-31L (3-6)Over 46.5 (4-5)
Week 11Saturday, August 19vs. Montreal (+2.5)L, 25-24W (4-6)Over 47 (5-5)
Week 12Sunday, August 27@ Edmonton (+1)L, 30-20L (4-7)Over 46 (6-5)
Week 14Friday, September 8vs. Hamilton (-4)

Ottawa Redblacks team facts

  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • Stadium: TD Place Stadium (1906-96, 2002-05, 2014-present; capacity: 24,000)
  • Year Founded: 1876
  • Grey Cup Titles : 9 (1925, 1926, 1940, 1951, 1960, 1968, 1973, 1976, 2016)

Ottawa Redblacks history

Though the Redblacks are technically the most recent to join the CFL, football in Canada’s capital city dates back to 1876 with the formation of the Ottawa Rough Riders. Similar to the Montreal Alouettes, there have been three incarnations of the Ottawa franchise that are now all considered one entity for the purpose of record-keeping.

Ottawa won nine Grey Cups over a storied run of more than a century as the Rough Riders, beginning in 1925 and extending to 1976, with five of the titles coming after the formation of the Canadian Football League in 1958 (the Grey Cup has been awarded since 1909).

The Rough Riders were particularly dominant in the late 1960s and into the mid-1970s, winning four titles between 1968 and 1976. The final Grey Cup appearance for the original iteration of the Ottawa franchise came in 1981 before failing to go over .500 for 15 straight seasons and didn’t win a single playoff game. Following the 1996 season, the team folded after 120 years.

After five seasons without a CFL franchise, Ottawa was resurrected as the Renegades in 2002 and the team played four seasons before play was suspended in 2006 and operations shut down in 2008. Following another several-year period of inactivity, the third and current installment of the Ottawa CFL team began play in 2014 thanks to Jeff Hunt and the rest of the Ottawa Sports and Entertainment Group.

Due to naming rights complications with the Saskatchewan Roughriders, the franchise was forced to take on a new name, though the team still has its original colors and the new name pays tribute to the original Rough Riders in a number of ways.

Success came early and often for the newest edition of the Ottawa CFL team. Under head coach Rick Campbell, it took the Redblacks until just its second year to reach the Grey Cup final in 2015, losing to Edmonton. But the following season, Ottawa defeated Edmonton in the 2016 East Final before beating Calgary to capture the city’s first Grey Cup since 1976.

Ottawa reached another Grey Cup Final in 2018, losing to Calgary while making its third appearance in four years.

Ottawa Redblacks all-time leaders

The CFL did not originally count all versions of the Ottawa football team to be one single entity but as of 2017, that is all changed.

As mentioned above, the Ottawa franchise shares this distinction with its rival Montreal Alouettes, which also faced multiple periods of inactivity as a franchise. Now, all-time records for Ottawa include the original Rough Riders (1876-1996), the Renegades (2002-2005), and the Redblacks (2014–present).

Over that long period of time, there have been many legends who have played for Ottawa. Let’s get a look at the franchise’s all-time leaders in several categories:

  • Games Played: Moe Racine (201; 1958-74)
  • Total Touchdowns: Bob Simpson (70; 1950-62)
  • Passing Yards: Russ Jackson (24,593; 1958-69)
  • Receiving Yards: Tony Gabriel (7,484; 1975-81)
  • Passing Touchdowns: Russ Jackson (185; 1958-69)
  • Receptions: Brad Sinopoli (455; 2015-19)
  • Receiving Touchdowns: Bob Simpson (65; 1950-62)
  • Rushing Yards: Dave Thelen (6,917; 1958-64)
  • Rushing Touchdowns: Russ Jackson (54; 1958-69)
  • Interceptions: Joe Poirier (46; 1959-70)
  • Tackles (single season): Buce Holmes (127; 1990)
  • Sacks: Greg Marshall (71; 1981-87)
  • Field Goals: Gerry Organ (318; 1971-77, 1979-83)
  • Coaching Victories: Frank Clair (116; 1956-69)