Edmonton Elks | Odds, News, & Team Information

Edmonton Elks news

Best CFL sportsbooks in Canada

Edmonton Elks team facts

  • Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • Stadium: The Brick Field at Commonwealth Stadium (1978-present; capacity: 56,302)
  • Year Founded: 1949
  • Grey Cup Titles: 14 (1954, 1955, 1956, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1987, 1993, 2003, 2005, 2015)

Edmonton Elks history

The Elks, formerly the Edmonton Eskimos, have one of the most robust championship legacies in the CFL. The franchise has won a total of 14 Grey Cups and has been to the title game a total of 23 times.

The timeline of the current organisation traces back to 1949, when gridiron football returned to Edmonton after last having been played there in 1939 by a team that also went by the Eskimos and that was part of the Western Interprovincial Football Union.

The franchise’s most prolific stretch came between the 1978 and 1982 seasons, when the then-Eskimos won five consecutive Grey Cup behind the stellar play of NFL and Canadian Football Hall of Famer Warren Moon and legendary head coach Hugh Campbell.

Edmonton also won three straight CFL titles between the 1954 and 1956 seasons, but that was followed by the longest championship drought in team history – the franchise would not hoist the Grey Cup again until 1975.

The Elks also hold the North American professional sports record for most consecutive times qualifying for the postseason (34 seasons), a streak that was snapped in 2006. Edmonton is also second place all-time in the CFL in terms of Grey Cup wins behind only the Toronto franchise (17).