Winnipeg Blue Bombers | Odds, Schedule, & Team Information

Winnipeg Blue Bombers news

Best CFL sportsbooks in Canada

2022 Winnipeg Blue Bombers schedule

WeekDateTimeOpponentGame ResultATSOver/Under
Week 1Friday, June 108:30 p.m. ETvs. Ottawa (-9.5)W, 19-17L (0-1)Under 48 (0-1)
Week 2Friday, June 177:30 p.m. ET@ Ottawa (-3)W, 19-12W (1-1)Under 45.5 (0-2)
Week 3Friday, June 248:30 p.m. ETvs. Hamilton (-5.5)W, 26-12W (2-1)Under 42.5 (0-3)
Week 4Monday, July 47:30 p.m. ET@ Toronto (-5)W, 23-22 L (2-2)Over 42.5 (1-3)
Week 5Saturday, July 97 p.m. ET@ BC Lions (+3)W, 43-22 (5-0)W (3-2)Over 48.5 (2-3)
Week 6Friday, July 158:30 p.m. ETvs. Calgary (+4)W, 26-19 W, (4-2)Under 47 (2-4)
Week 7Friday, July 229 p.m. ET@ Edmonton (-7.5)W, 24-10W (5-2)Under 47 (2-5)
Week 8Saturday, July 307 p.m. ET@ Calgary (-1)W, 35-28W (6-2)Over 46.5 (3-5)
Week 9Thursday, August 47: 30 p.m. ET@ Montreal (-5.5)W, 35-20W (7-2)Over 47.5 (4-5)
Week 10Thursday, August 118:30 p.m. ETvs. Montreal (-12)L, 20-17 (9-1)L (7-3)Under 49 (4-6)
Week 11BYE
Week 12Thursday, August 258:30 p.m. ETvs. Calgary (-6.5)W, 31-29L (7-4)Over 48.5 (5-6)
Week 13Sunday, September 46 p.m. ET@ Saskatchewan (-3.5)W, 20-18L (7-5)Under 44.5 (5-7)
Week 14Saturday, September 105 p.m. ETvs. Saskatchewan (-7.5)W, 54-20W (8-5)Over 44.5 (6-7)
Week 15Saturday, September 174 p.m. ET@ Hamilton (-8.5)L, 48-31L (8-6)Over 46.5 (7-7)
Week 16BYE
Week 17Friday, September 308 p.m. ETvs. Saskatchewan
Week 18Saturday, October 87 p.m. ETvs. Edmonton
Week 19Saturday, October 1510 p.m. ET@ BC Lions
Week 20BYE
Week 21Friday, October 288:30 p.m. ETvs. BC Lions

Winnipeg Blue Bombers team facts

  • Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Stadium: IG Field (2013-present; capacity: 33,000)
  • Year Founded: 1930
  • Grey Cup Titles: 12 (1935, 1939, 1941, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1984, 1988, 1990, 2019, 2021)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers history

The history of the Blue Bombers franchise dates back to 1930, when the team was notably founded as the Winnipeg Rugby Football Club. The “Rugby” was eventually dropped from the official team name, leaving Winnipeg Football Club as the legal organization name still in use today.

There’s a rich championship tradition in Winnipeg as the Blue Bombers, winners of the last two Grey Cups, boast a total of 12 CFL titles overall. No team has made more Grey Cup appearances than the Bombers’ 26, and this franchise also holds the distinction of being the first Western Canada team to win the league championship after a win over the then-Hamilton Tigers in 1935.

The team was still commonly known as the “Winnipegs” at the time of that win, but a local sports writer’s labeling of them as the “Blue Bombers of Western football” led to the current nickname.

There’s a pair of individual statistical professional football milestones that were set by a Blue Bombers player. Quarterback Jack Jacobs, who played six NFL seasons before heading north, became the first pro football signal-caller in any North American league to eclipse the 3,000-yard mark when he racked up 3,248 in 1951, as well as the first to vault the 30-touchdown mark when he compiled 33 that same season.

The Bombers have had a number of accomplished head coaches at the helm over their history, perhaps none more than Bud Grant, who is in both the CFL and NFL Hall of Fame. Grant coached the Blue Bombers from 1957-1966, winning the Grey Cup four times during his tenure following a successful four-year run as a player with the franchise. Grant also coached the NFL’s Minnesota Vikings for 18 seasons, winning one NFL title and three NFC championships.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers all-time leaders

The Blue Bombers’ team history is replete with a multitude of impressive individual accomplishments, and there are a total of 41 former Winnipeg players in the CFL Hall of Fame.

For a closer look at the all-time franchise leaders in a variety of categories, check out the list below:

  • Games Played: Bob Cameron (394, 1980-2002)
  • Total Touchdowns: Milt Stegall (147, 1995-2008)
  • Receiving Touchdowns: Milt Stegall (144, 1995-2008)
  • Rushing Touchdowns: Charles Roberts (64, 2001-2008)
  • Passing Yards: Dieter Brock (29,623; 1974-1983)
  • Passing Touchdowns: Dieter Brock (187; 1974-1983)
  • Rushing Yards: Charles Roberts (9,987; 2001-2008)
  • Receptions: Milt Stegall (854; 1995-2008)
  • Receiving Yards: Milt Stegall (15,153; 1995-2008)
  • Interceptions: Rod Hill (47; 1988-1992)
  • Tackles: Greg Battle (607; 1987-1993 & 1997-1998)
  • Sacks: Tyrone Jones (98; 1983-1991)
  • Field Goals: Troy Westwood (617; 1991-2007, 2009)
  • Coaching Victories: Bud Grant (90; 1958-1966)