Calgary Stampeders | Odds, News, & Team Information

Calgary Stamps news

Best CFL sportsbooks in Canada

Calgary Stampeders team facts

  • Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • Stadium: McMahon Stadium (1960-present; capacity: 35,400, expandable to 46,020)
  • Year Founded: 1945
  • Grey Cup Titles: 8 (1948, 1971, 1992, 1998, 2001, 2008, 2014, 2018)

Calgary Stampeders history 

Founded in 1945, the Stampeders are considered the third-oldest CFL franchise still operating even though they were preceded by football clubs that were existed in Calgary since the 1890s.

The franchise has a decorated past, having notched 20 Western Division championships, one Northern Division championship, 17 Grey Cup appearances, and eight Grey Cup titles. Calgary’s first Grey Cup appearance came in just their fourth season in existence, when it defeated Ottawa by a 12-7 score in 1948.

Calgary has been a prolific Grey Cup participant since the turn of the century, participating in a total of seven title games and winning four during that span. That stretch includes three straight appearances to cap off the 2016-18 seasons. 

The most successful head coach in franchise history to date in terms of total wins and championships has been the legendary Wally Buono, who posted a 153-79 -2 record between the 1990 and 2002 seasons. Buono also posted a 15-9 playoff record while leading Calgary to Grey Cup titles in the 1992, 1998, and 2001 seasons.

John Hufnagel, however, who also played four seasons for the franchise before helming the team from 2008-2015, bested Buono in winning percentage courtesy of a 102-41-1 record (.712) and secured a pair of Grey Cup titles in his own right (2008, 2014).

Current head coach Dave Dickenson is the franchise leader in career winning percentage entering the 2022 season (.721) courtesy of a 61-23-2 record and led the Stampeders to its most recent title in 2018.