Redblacks’ Brad Sinopoli attempts rare (and dumb) quick kick

With Ottawa trailing 23-19 on Saturday night, Canadian receiver Brad Sinopoli attempted a quick kick.

On second and 20, the Redblacks inside their own 20-yard line, Sinopoli catches and then kicks the ball. Rico Murray recovers for Toronto.

The “punt” is considered a change of possession, so Ottawa needed to punt the ball across the line of scrimmage and recover it to get a new set of downs.

The turnover gave the Argos great field position and led to a field goal for the Argos that made the score 26-19 and ultimately proved to be the winning point(s) in the game.

Facebooktwitterredditmail

15 Comments on Redblacks’ Brad Sinopoli attempts rare (and dumb) quick kick

  1. I’ve been watching CFL football for over 40 years and never seen that play, as an Argo fan I really liked it!!

  2. Scottsask // July 9, 2017 at 1:12 am //

    If it had worked, he’s a genius.

    • Honestly, if it had worked, I would still be of the opinion that he got away with one. It’s still a stupid place from which to pull that stuff. I might appreciate his knowledge of the rule book but that’s about it.

      From the stadium, my little group didn’t even think it was intentional. We figured it was ruled a catch, fumble, accidentally kicked and recovered by Toronto. Just a perfect storm of misfortune, not punching yourself in the sack like that. Wow.

  3. horsieland // July 9, 2017 at 1:19 am //

    Silly gimmick,thats what poor teams do not the RedBlacks. Wait..0-2-1. Maybe they are bad

    • george fogarty // July 9, 2017 at 11:09 am //

      Blah, blah, blah from a supporter of the biggest grey cup choke team ever.

      • horsieland // July 9, 2017 at 1:03 pm //

        Umm nope pretty sure the greatest grey cup choke ever occurred at historic McMahon Stadium in 2009

        • George Porge // July 9, 2017 at 5:09 pm //

          Yeah, giving up a 16-point lead with eight minutes left to play, and then giving the game-winning kick a re-do because you can’t count the number of players on the field properly.

          vs.

          Coming back from a 20-point deficit, almost winning on a run-play that was stopped by a shoe-string tackle and losing in the first overtime in Grey Cup history.

          Sure goes to show you how low expectations vs. high expectations tend to colour certain fans’ hindsight.

  4. Gooseen // July 9, 2017 at 9:35 am //

    That was a case of the football taking a crazy first bounce forward which Sinopoli was not expecting and the ball carried to Rico Murray. If the ball just bounced up instead of forward, Ottawa has a new set of downs. However, Murray read it pretty quickly because he got there in an awful hurry. You can see he was 5 yards ahead of his teammates in the replay. Most of the Argos were lined up about 20 yards from scrimmage.

  5. Clay Connor // July 9, 2017 at 10:31 am //

    Plays like that may work great in practice, but under the pressure of a late game situation, Sinopoli kicked the ball too hard. Full credit to Rico Murray for his quick reaction.

  6. A favourite play of David “Coach” Beckman.

  7. Lol he didn’t do this on purpose!!! It wasn’t even a catch. He dropped the catch and inadvertently kicked it wile running. If it’s a qiuck kick why is no one running down field to tackle the return? Ask Brad if it was a quick kick.

  8. It definitely was a quick kick and would have resulted in a new set of downs if he had recovered it like he intended to do. Rarely used but check the rules and you’ll find it there.

    • I understand what a quick kick is. Please watch from all angles.

      This quick kick you think you see here is nothing more than a dropped pass. Why would you have blockers 10 yards off line of scrimmage? Flag for that right away. And your also saying Harris and the whole O-line are also on side. Bc they are behind Brad?

      It’s a dropped pass.

      • It isn’t. Listen to post game interviews with Campbell, or yesterday’s appearance on tsn1200. He explains exactly what the intent was.

        Ottawa got flagged for no yards on the play, no less.

  9. Jimmy D. // July 10, 2017 at 10:56 pm //

    Yards still have to be gained. No matter. Doesn’t matter if the ball was kicked behind the line of scrimmage and the ball crosses it. It does on a regular punt. Think about it.

Comments are closed.