Western Mustangs lead the way with 14 OUA all-star selections

Photo courtesy: OUA

The Western Mustangs have had 14 players selected to the Ontario University Athletics (OUA) all-star teams after finishing the regular season with an undefeated record at 8-0. Nine players were selected as first-team all-stars, while another five were selected as second-team honourees.

Evan Hillock was named the OUA’s first-team all-star quarterback after throwing for 1,699 yards, 16 touchdowns, and zero interceptions during the regular season. Keon Edwards (first-team) and Edouard Wanadi (second-team) both made the list as all-stars at running back after rushing for totals of 1,032 yards and 843 yards to rank first and fifth in all of U Sports, respectively.

Receiver Savaughn Magnaye-Jones, offensive tackle Zack Fry, guard Phillip Grohovac, centre Elliot Beamer, defensive tackle Malcolm Hinds, safety Daniel Valente Jr., and halfback Rob Panabaker round out the rest of Western’s first-team all-stars. Fry was a second-round pick of the Saskatchewan Roughriders in the 2022 CFL Draft, while Valente was a fourth-round pick of the Ottawa Redblacks.

The Queen’s Golden Gaels and Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks both had nine players selected, while eight members of the Ottawa Gee-Gees were selected as well. All eleven OUA football programs had at least one player represented on at least one of the two all-star teams.

The full list of this year’s OUA all-stars can be found below.

First-team all-stars

QB – Evan Hillock, Western
RB – Keon Edwards, Western
RB – Jean-Paul Cimankinda, Ottawa
REC – Savaughn Magnaye-Jones, Western
REC – Ethan Jordan, Wilfrid Laurier
REC – Richard Burton, Queen’s
REC – Vyshonne Janusas, Guelph
T – Zack Fry, Western
T – Jas Khaira, Queen’s
G – Phillip Grohovac, Western
G – Evan Floren, Queen’s
C – Elliot Beamer, Western

DT – Darien Newell, Queen’s
DT – Malcolm Hinds, Western
DE – Silas Hubert, Queen’s
DE – Scott Murray, Guelph
LB – James Peter, Ottawa
LB – Ife Onyemenam, Wilfrid Laurier
SAM – Emmanuel Gyan-Aboagye, Ottawa
FS – Daniel Valente Jr., Western
HB – Ashton Miller-Melancon, Queen’s
HB – Rob Panabaker, Western
CB – Siriman Harrison Bagayogo, Guelph
CB – Kevin Victome, Ottawa

P – Dawson Hodge, Wilfrid Laurier
K – Tyler Mullan, Queen’s
RET – Alfred Olay, York
RUSH – Jack Hinsperger, Waterloo

Second-team all-stars

QB – Andreas Dueck, McMaster
RB – Quentin Scott, Wilfrid Laurier
RB – Edouard Wanadi, Western
REC – Kaseem Ferdinand, Carleton
REC – Daniel Oladejo, Ottawa
REC – Gordon Lam, Waterloo
REC – Raidan Thorne, Wilfrid Laurier
T – Erik Anderson, Western
T – Cooper Hamilton, Wilfrid Laurier
G – Zach Benson, Windsor
G – Tristan Fortin, Ottawa
C – Ryan Berta, Queen’s

DT – Muftah Ageli, Windsor
DT – Mitch Price, McMaster
DE – Bruce Maas, Western
DE – Jason Janvier Messier, York
LB – Riley MacLeod, Western
LB – Matt Dean, York
SAM – Jordan Veltri, Wilfrid Laurier
FS – Nico McCarthy, Wilfrid Laurier
HB – Patrick Burke Jr., Wilfrid Laurier
HB – Eric Cumberbatch, Ottawa
CB – DeEmetrius Masuka, McMaster
CB – Richard Aduboffour, Western

P – Dante Mastrogiuseppe, Toronto
K – Campbell Fair, Ottawa
RET – Luka Stoikos, Toronto
RUSH – Raheem Balogun Jr., Queen’s