Head coaches Bob O’Billovich & Lew Hayman, broadcaster Peter Martin enshrined as All-Time Argos

Photo courtesy: Toronto Argonauts

The Toronto Argonauts will honour a trio of their most influential voices on Friday night, enshrining them as builders on the All-Time Argos team.

Former head coaches Lew Hayman and Bob O’Billovich will be officially recognized on June 28, as will iconic radio broadcaster Peter Martin. They will be honoured alongside quarterback Ricky Ray, whose enshrinement had been previously announced.

Hayman joined the organization in 1932 as the interim head coach but the “interim” title was dropped the next year, as the Argos went on to win the Grey Cup. He would lead the club to two more championships in 1937 and 1938 before departing after the 1940 season.

After leading Toronto RCAF to the 1942 title and co-founding the Montreal Alouettes, Hayman returned to the Argos in 1956. He would hold several titles, including president, managing director, vice-chairman, and director, until he left the club following the team’s Grey Cup win in 1983.

In total, Hayman spent 37 seasons with the Argos, including nine as head coach. He has the most playoff wins in franchise history with six and tied Ted Morris with three Grey Cups. He was inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 1975.

O’Billovich was hired as head coach in 1982 and propelled the team to a Grey Cup berth in his first season — the team’s first in 30 years. He won it the following year and also led the team to the championship game in 1987. After spending three seasons with the Lions, “O’Bie” returned to coach the Argos in 1993 and added the GM title a year later.

He is the all-time Argos leader in seasons coached with 11, posting an 89-79-3 record to become the winningest coach in franchise history. He also boasts the most regular-season division titles with five, most playoff appearances with eight, and he is tied with Hayman and Morris for most Grey Cup appearances.

Martin played eight seasons with the Argos as a linebacker from 1965 to 1972 but is best remembered for his post-playing career. In 1977, he became th colour commentator on Argo radio broadcasts a position he held, aside for a handful of years, until the conclusion of the 2010 season.

He was also the president of the Argos Alumni Association for many years, finally stepping down following the 100th Grey Cup season in 2012. He spent almost four decades as an Argo and was named to the media wing of the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 2000. In 2016, the Canadian Football League Alumni Association named Martin and Michael Clemons as their co-Man of the Year.

The All-Time Argonauts program was founded in 1997 and has since added 26 members, most recently Damon Allen and Derrell Mitchell.

The Toronto Argonauts (2-0) will host the Montreal Alouettes (3-0) on Friday, June 28 with kickoff slated for 7:30 p.m. EDT.