Ticats release Canadian DE Mason Bennett, American receiver Omar Bayless amidst final cuts

Photo: Bob Butrym/3DownNation. All rights reserved.

The Hamilton Tiger-Cats have released 29 players ahead of the CFL’s final roster cutdown deadline, most notably veteran Canadian defensive end Mason Bennett and up-and-coming American receiver Omar Bayless.

Bennett started eleven games for the Tiger-Cats in 2022, recording 28 defensive tackles and five sacks. His production plummeted in 2023, however, as he managed only five tackles and one sack over 14 contests.

The six-foot-four, 262-pound defender was a first-round pick in the 2020 CFL Draft out of the University of North Dakota. He has made 44 defensive tackles, five special teams tackles, and eight sacks over 43 career CFL games.

Bayless was projected to earn a starting role in his second season in Hamilton, having caught 17 passes for 214 yards and two touchdowns in seven games as a rookie.

The 27-year-old played four seasons at Arkansas State, amassing 177 receptions for 2,775 yards and 26 touchdowns in 43 games. He graduated as the school’s all-time leader in career-receiving touchdowns and was named the Sun Belt Player of the Year in 2019.

The remaining 27 players released are listed below.

  • National defensive lineman Dyton Blackett
  • National defensive lineman Anthony Federico
  • National defensive back Jonathan Giustini
  • National offensive lineman John Kourtis
  • National wide receiver Jacob Patten
  • National running back Matthew Peterson
  • National offensive lineman Jakub Szott
  • National defensive lineman Mitchell Townsend
  • American defensive back Shakur Brown
  • American defensive back Arquon Bush
  • American wide receiver Chris Coleman
  • American tight end Michael Ezeike
  • American linebacker Aaron Hansford
  • American wide receiver Dev Holmes
  • American tight end Camren McDonald
  • American defensive lineman Darrius Moragne
  • American linebacker Marvin Pierre
  • American defensive lineman Adam Plant
  • American wide receiver Marcus Rogers
  • American offensive lineman Kendrick Sartor
  • American defensive lineman Derrick Tangelo
  • American quarterback Kevin Thomson
  • American running back Calvin Tyler Jr.
  • American wide receiver T.J. Vasher
  • American defensive back David Vereen
  • American defensive lineman Cedric Wilcots
  • Global punter Bailey Flint

The team has also placed the following 10 players onto their practice roster.

  • National linebacker Ryan Baker
  • National defensive back Patrick Burke Jr.
  • National wide receiver Tyler Ternowski
  • American wide receiver Kaylon Geiger
  • American offensive lineman Brandon Kemp
  • American defensive lineman Trevon Mason
  • American defensive back Mark Milton
  • American wide receiver Dezmon Patmon
  • American defensive lineman Kelle Sanders
  • Global punter Kaare Vedvik

The Ticats will open their regular season when they visit the Calgary Stampeders on Friday, June 7 at 9:00 p.m. ET.