Argos release 24 amid final cuts, including veteran DB Tarvarus McFadden

Photo: Reuben Polansky/3DownNation. All rights reserved.

The Toronto Argonauts have released 24 players ahead of the CFL roster cutdown deadline, including veteran defensive backs Tarvarus McFadden and Maurice Carnell IV.

McFadden first joined the Argos ahead of the 2021 season and spent the majority of his first season on the practice roster. He has since suited up in 33 career games, primarily at cornerback, and posted 65 defensive tackles, five special teams tackles, four interceptions, and two forced fumbles.

The 27-year-old played three seasons at Florida State University (2015-2017) making 53 tackles, three sacks and intercepting the ball eight times in 28 games. McFadden was an All-American in 2016, was a finalist for the NCAA’s top defensive player award and won the Jack Tatum Trophy for the nation’s top defensive back.

Carnell missed the entirety of the 2023 season due to injury but first joined the team in 2018. He has bounced between the practice and active roster with both the Argos and Ticats, recording 28 defensive tackles, a sack and four interceptions in nine career games.

The remaining 22 players released are listed below.

  • American offensive lineman Nick Amoah
  • National long snapper Blaise Barber
  • American defensive lineman Atlias Bell
  • American receiver B.J. Byrd
  • American running back Jordan Byrd
  • National defensive back Jerrell Cummings
  • American defensive lineman LaDarius Hamilton
  • American receiver Changa Hodge
  • American running back Khalan Laborn
  • American offensive lineman Darta Lee
  • American quarterback John Matocha
  • National offensive lineman Owen Mueller
  • National defensive back Brendan Murphy
  • National fullback Spencer Nichols
  • National offensive lineman Braydon Noll
  • National defensive lineman Ifenna Onyeka
  • National linebacker Ife Onyemenam
  • American offensive lineman Dare Rosenthal
  • National defensive lineman Justin Sambu
  • American receiver Trea Shropshire
  • American defensive back Chris Steele
  • American linebacker Khalan Tolson

The Argos have also placed the following 12 players on their practice roster.

  • National offensive lineman John Bosse
  • National fullback Brandon Calver
  • American linebacker Isaac Darkangelo
  • American defensive back Amani Dennis
  • Global punter Jeremy Edwards
  • Global kicker Alfredo Gachuz Lozada
  • National defensive lineman Tyson Hergott
  • American defensive lineman Ralph Holley
  • American defensive back Darius Joiner
  • American receiver Justin Marshall
  • American receiver Makai Polk
  • National receiver Richie Sindani

National offensive lineman Daniel Shin has been added to the suspended list with the intention of returning to school.

The Argos will open their 2024 regular season when they host the B.C. Lions on Sunday, June 9 at 7:00 p.m. ET.