Hec Crighton Trophy winner Jonathan Sénécal highlights participants for CFL QB internship program

Photo courtesy: Universite de Montreal/James Hajjar

Nine Canadian players have been selected for the CFL’s quarterback internship program, which takes place during training camps across the league.

Jonathan Sénécal out of the Université de Montréal will attend training camp with the Montreal Alouettes following a stellar season during which he won the Hec Crighton Trophy as the top player in U Sports football while leading the Carabins to a Vanier Cup title.

The 24-year-old completed 69.6 percent of his passes for 2,215 yards, 15 touchdowns, and four interceptions in 2023 and ran the ball 34 times for 394 yards and six touchdowns. The six-foot, 200-pounder led the Quebec conference in every passing category and set a new school single-season record for passing touchdowns.

Taylor Elgersma, who was named the Most Valuable Player in Ontario University Athletics this past season, will attend training camp with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats after previously participating with the Toronto Argonauts.

“We are very excited for Taylor to, once again, be given an opportunity of being in a CFL training camp,” said Wilfrid Laurier head coach Michael Faulds in a statement. “The time Taylor spent the last two years with the Argos was very beneficial and we know this year with the Tiger-Cats will be no different.”

“He will immerse himself into Hamilton’s playbook and work extremely hard in their meetings and on the practice field. We know that when he returns to Laurier, he will be that much better, both mentally and physically.”

The other participants for this year’s program will be Carleton’s Tristan Lefebvre with the Ottawa Redblacks, Guelph’s Tristan Aboud with the Toronto Argonauts, Manitoba’s Jackson Tachinski with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Alberta’s Eli Hetlinger with the Saskatchewan Roughriders, Windsor’s Danny Skelton with the Calgary Stampeders, Bishop’s Justin Quirion with the Edmonton Elks, and UBC’s Derek Engel with the B.C. Lions.

Players who have previously participated in the program include Tre Ford, Michael O’Connor, and Andrew Buckley.