CFL commissioner Randy Ambrosie to be inducted into Gridiron Greats Hall of Fame

Photo: Bob Butrym/3DownNation. All rights reserved.

CFL commissioner Randy Ambrosie has been selected for induction into the Gridiron Greats Hall of Fame.

The 61-year-old native of Winnipeg, Man. was a first-round pick in the 1985 CFL Draft out of the University of Manitoba. He played nine seasons along the offensive line as a member of the Calgary Stampeders, Toronto Argonauts, and Edmonton Football Team, winning one Grey Cup in 1993. He was also an active member of the CFL Players’ Association.

Ambrosie has been the commissioner of the CFL since 2017 when he was hired following Jeffrey Orridge’s brief tenure at the helm. His tenure is already the fourth longest of any commissioner in league history, shy only of Mark Cohon (2007-15), G. Sydney Halter (1958-66), and Jake Gaudaur (1968-84).

Gridiron Greats was founded by Green Bay Packers legend Jerry Kramer and is a nonprofit organization that provides financial grants and pro bono medical assistance to retired NFL players in need. It has since been helmed by Hall of Fame tight end and coach Mike Ditka.

The organization inducts a former CFL player most years “for their accomplishments on and off the field.” Other non-NFL inductees include Sylvia Mackey Woman of the Year award and the Marv Levy Impact Award, which is given to someone who serves or has served in the Armed Forces or someone who is an advocate of the Armed Forces.

Previous CFL inductees include Angelo Mosca, George Reed, Hugh Campbell, Matt Dunigan, Ray Elgaard, Danny McManus, Leo Ezerins, Peter Dalla Riva, Hector Pother, and Jim Hopson. The nomination process north of the border is conducted by the CFL Alumni Association.

This year’s Hall of Fame Induction Gala will take place on Friday, June 7 in Chicago, Ill. This year’s other inductees include Steve Largent and Emery Moorehead, though more are expected to be announced in the coming days.