Montreal Carabins’ QB Jonathan Senecal named RSEQ Most Outstanding Player

Photo courtesy: Montreal Carabins

The Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) has unveiled its major award winners for the 2023 football season, with the first-place Montreal Carabins claiming the big three individual honours.

Quarterback Jonathan Sénécal, linebacker Harold Miessan, and defensive tackle Christopher Fontenard all took home major awards, while Carabins’ head coach Marco Iadeluca was named Coach of the Year following a 7-1 season.

Sénécal received the Jeff Russel Trophy as the conference’s Most Outstanding Player after completing nearly 70 percent of his passes for 2,215 yards, 15 touchdowns and just four interceptions. The third-year transfer from UConn led the conference in every passing category and set a new school passing touchdown record, while also rushing for 394 yards and six majors — fourth most by any player in the conference. He will now be nominated for the coveted Hec Crighton Trophy, hoping to become the second consecutive winner from the RSEQ following Laval receiver Kevin Mital last season.

Miessan was selected as the conference’s Outstanding Defensive Player, racking up 36 tackles, two interceptions, and a sack. The 2021 RSEQ Defensive Rookie of the Year established himself as the leader of Montreal’s defence following the departure of Michael Brodrique and will now contend for the President’s Trophy.

Fontenard was named the conference’s Outstanding Lineman after collecting 20 tackles, four tackles for loss, and 2.5 sacks along the defensive interior. The native of Toulouse, France also intercepted a pass and recovered a fumble, earning consideration for the J.P. Metras Trophy.

Laval linebacker Justin Cloutier managed to avoid a clean sweep of major awards by the Carabins, earning Rookie of the Year honours and a chance at the national Peter Gorman Trophy after notching 28.5 tackles and a sack in his first season. Concordia Stingers’ special teams assistant Emilie Pfeiffer Badoux received the conference’s nomination for the Gino Fracas Award as the country’s top assistant coach, becoming the first-ever female nominee for the award.

The Rouge et Or claimed the remaining three awards without national equivalents, as offensive lineman Maxime Olivier Cabana was named Outstanding Offensive Rookie of the Year, defensive back Jordan Lessard was selected Outstanding Defensive Rookie of the Year, and kicker Vincent Blanchard earned Outstanding Special Teams Player of the Year.

The RSEQ season will conclude with the presentation of the Dunsmore Cup on Saturday, November 11. The Laval Rouge et Or and the Montreal Carabins are scheduled to kick off at 2:00 p.m. EST, with the winner moving on to face the OUA champions in the Uteck Bowl national semi-final.