Saskatchewan Roughriders bringing back Kory Sheets, other fan favourites for 2013 Grey Cup celebration

Photo: AP Photo/Larry MacDougal

The Saskatchewan Roughriders will welcome a number of players from their 2013 Grey Cup team back to Rider Nation when the squad is inducted into the Plaza of Honour on Oct. 7.

Kory Sheets, Tyron Brackenridge, Tristan Jackson, Chris Getzlaf, and Neal Hughes will be present for the dedication, all five of whom helped defeat the Hamilton Tiger-Cats by a score of 45-23 in the Grey Cup in Regina. Sheets was named the game’s Most Valuable Player after rushing for a Grey Cup record 197 yards and two touchdowns.

The Riders have “dozens of players and personnel” committed to appear in Regina at next month’s ceremony with further announcements still to come.

“We are thrilled to be able to bring back players and personnel from our 2013 championship team, who created so many lasting memories for Rider Nation,” said team president and CEO Craig Reynolds in a statement. “This special weekend, which includes a special halftime induction ceremony on October 7, will create new memories between the players and fans as we celebrate one of the club’s greatest moments and people who made it all possible.”

The weekend will be filled with community appearances and autograph sessions. The Riders will release further details about the weekend’s events closer to the game.

“I’m beyond excited to get back to celebrate with Rider Nation,” said Jackson. “It’s been way too long. They’ll always have a special place in my heart.”

The Riders have won four Grey Cups since they were founded in 1910 with the 2013 championship being the most recent. It remains the only championship the team has won on home soil and was the last CFL championship game played at Taylor Field before it was demolished following the 2016 season.