Edmonton Elks swap three defensive starters vs. Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Photo: Timothy Matwey/3DownNation. All rights reserved.

The Edmonton Elks have made a number of changes to their lineup ahead of Thursday’s game against the Winnipeg Blue Bombers.

Defensive starters J-Min Pelley and Nyles Morgan have been moved to the six-game injured list after suffering injuries during practice this week. Sam Acheampong will start in Pelley’s spot at defensive tackle, though Jake Ceresna should feature heavily in the rotation. Elliott Brown will make his first start of the season at defensive end.

Tony Jones will start in Morgan’s place at middle linebacker. The Texas Tech product has dressed for all six games this season in a backup role, recording five defensive tackles and four special teams tackles.

Marloshawn Franklin Jr. will make his first start of the season at safety after opening the season on the six-game injured list. He has replaced Mark McLaurin, who has been moved to the practice roster.

Players who remain on Edmonton’s six-game injured list include Emmanuel Arceneaux, Ed Gainey, Aaron Grymes, and Eugene Lewis.

The Elks (0-6) will visit the Blue Bombers (4-2) on Thursday, July 20 with kickoff slated for 8:30 p.m. EDT. This will mark the first of three meetings between the teams this season.

Photo: Edmonton Elks