Winnipeg Blue Bombers release 12 players, sign Canadian OL Jakub Szott

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/

The Winnipeg Blue made a number of roster moves ahead of the start of training camp later today.

The team signed four players, including Canadian offensive lineman Jakub Szott, American receiver Braxton Westfield, American defensive tackle Julius Turner and Global punter Jamieson Sheahan.

Szott was released by the Montreal Alouettes on May 11. The six-foot-five, 305-pound blocker was a fourth-round pick of the Ottawa Redblacks in the 2020 CFL Draft. He started 12 games as a rookie at left guard in 2021 before spending most of the 2022 season on the team’s practice roster before being released last August.

The 24-year-old spent time on the Blue Bombers’ practice roster last October before signing with the Alouettes later that month.

The team also released 12 players, including Canadian defensive back Noah Hallett, fellow Canadian defensive back Cedrick Lavigne, Canadian offensive lineman Tyler Grisolia, Canadian receiver Michael O’Shea, National punter Chris MacLean, American quarterback Cooper Callis, American running back TaZhawn Henry, American receiver Jaivon Hellish, American kicker Marc Orozco and American defensive backs Jordan Brown, Tyrique McGhee and Karon Delince.

Hallett was a second-round selection of the Bombers in the 2020 CFL Draft and played 11 games for the team over two seasons with the club. Hallett suffered a knee injury in November 2021 and missed almost 10 months. He played in two games a season ago.

O’Shea is the son of Winnipeg Blue Bombers head coach Mike O’Shea, The team signed the younger O’Shea last week after he went unselected in the 2023 CFL Draft.

The Bombers also transferred American defensive back Will Allen Jr. and American defensive tackle O’Bryan Goodson to the suspended list and added Global defensive end Thiadric Hansen and American linebacker Kyrie Wilson to the six-game injured list.

The 30-year-old Wilson suffered an Achilles injury last July.