Saskatchewan Roughriders release eight players, including 2021 CFL Draft pick OL Matthew Derks

Photo courtesy: Delaware State Athletics

The Saskatchewan Roughriders have made a series of roster moves ahead of the start of training on Sunday.

The team released eight players, including American quarterback Zerrick Cooper, American running back Jace Jordan, American defensive linemen Charles Akanno and Weston Kramer, American linebacker La’Akea Kaho’Ohanohano-Davis, defensive back Justus Harris, Canadian receiver James Basalyga and Canadian offensive lineman Matthew Derks.

Cooper was signed by the team last November after throwing for 9,628 yards, 74 touchdowns, and 34 interceptions during his collegiate seasons at Jacksonville State University (2018-2021). He was second-team All-Ohio Valley Conference in 2019 and first-team All-Ohio Valley Conference in 2018.

Basalyga was signed by the Riders after going unselected in the 2023 CFL Draft. The University of Waterloo product caught 28 passes for 477 yards and five touchdowns last season and finished his career with the Warriors with 79 catches for 1,309 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Derks was originally selected by the Ottawa Redblacks in the sixth round of the 2021 CFL Draft. The six-foot-four, 325-pound blocker attended training camp with the Redblacks in 2022 but was later released.

The team also suspended American offensive lineman Jeremiah Poutasi, American defensive back Rashard Robinson and American receiver Jester Weah.

Canadian linebacker Tommy Bringi was added to the team’s retired list.