Edmonton Elks release 15 players following completion of rookie camp

Photo courtesy: Edmonton Elks

The Edmonton Elks have released 15 players following the completion of the team’s rookie camp.

Among those released by the team were American defensive lineman Nick Andrews, American offensive lineman Erick Browne, American defensive backs Rashard Causey Jr., Devious Christmon, T.J. Newell II and Denzel Washington, American linebackers Vincent DiLeo and Javahn Ferguson, American punter Noah Gettman, American running backs Trayone Gray, Lexington Thomas and Mikhail Johnson, Canadian offensive lineman Peter Kozushka, Canadian defensive lineman Riley Szafranski and Global punter/kicker Ryan Meskell.

Kozushka was a sixth-round pick of the Montreal Alouettes in the 2022 CFL Draft, while Szafranski signed with the Elks after going unselected in the 2023 CFL Draft.

The 28-year-old Meskell played one game for the Elks a season ago recording four kickoffs for 230 yards in Week 9 against the B.C. Lions. The native of Gold Coast, Australia signed with the Elks practice roster last June and was re-signed by the team in December of last year.

The University of Hawaii product made 66.7 percent of his field goals and 99.1 percent of his extra point attempts while with the Rainbow Warriors.

The Elks open training camp on Sunday at Commonwealth Stadium. They will play their first pre-season game against the Calgary Stampeders at McMahon Stadium on Monday, May 22.