Okanagan Sun, Regina Thunder advance to CJFL’s Canadian Bowl

Photo courtesy: Regina Thunder

The Okanagan Sun and Regina Thunder have advanced to the Canadian Bowl following victories in the Canadian Junior Football League’s national semi-finals this past weekend.

The Sun defeated the St. Clair Saints by a score of 42-24 at Acumen Stadium in Windsor, Ont. on Saturday.

Dominic Britton threw early touchdown passes to Noah Bymak and Mike O’Shea, the son of Winnipeg Blue Bombers’ head coach Mike O’Shea, and the Sun never looked back. Jevan Garwood was named the offensive player of the game after rushing for 157 yards and two touchdowns.

Travis Miller was recently named the B.C. Conference’s Coach of the Year in his first year at the helm, while O’Shea was named the Outstanding Special Teams Player and Outstanding Return Specialist.

The Thunder defeated the Saskatoon Hilltops by a score of 39-21 at Mosaic Stadium in Regina on Sunday.

Carter Shewchuk completed 80.6 percent of his passes for 312 yards and one touchdown in the win along with six carries for 40 yards and two scores. Ryland Leichert had another dominant performance along the ground, rushing 33 times for 190 yards and two touchdowns.

Shewchuk led the CJFL in passing this year, completing 62.8 percent of his passes for 2,351 yards, 18 touchdowns, and eight interceptions along with 26 carries for 225 yards. He was named the Prairie Conference’s top quarterback, while Scott MacAulay was named the Coach of the Year.

Okanagan and Regina remain undefeated on the year as the Sun finished atop the British Columbia Conference with a perfect 10-0 record, while the Thunder won the Prairie Conference at 8-0.

The Canadian Bowl will be played at Mosaic Stadium on Saturday, Nov. 12 with kickoff slated for 1:00 p.m. EST. Okanagan last qualified for the game in 2015 when they lost to the Saskatoon Hilltops by a score of 38-24, while Regina last appeared in the game when they defeated the Vancouver Island Raiders in 2013 by a score of 55-26.

The Langley Rams won last year’s Canadian Bowl at Western Alumni Stadium in London, Ont. with a 37-0 win over the London Beefeaters.