Winnipeg Blue Bombers to induct Joe Poplawski into Ring of Honour at IG Field

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers are inducting receivier Joe Poplawski to the Ring of Honour at IG Field.

“This is pretty darn special,” said Poplawski in a statement. “What first comes to mind is all the great teammates I had over the years, and this is certainly a tribute to them as well. I also think about the potential future Ring of Honour inductees, too, and it will be a great honour being up on the ring with them.”

The six-foot-one, 180-pound target was acquired via trade from his hometown of Edmonton in 1978 and played nine seasons for the Blue Bombers, winning one Grey Cup in 1984. He retired following the 1986 season with 549 career receptions (third all-time in team history) for 8,341 yards (third all-time in team history) for 48 touchdowns.

Poplawski was named the CFL’s Most Outstanding Rookie in 1978 and the league’s Most Outstanding Canadian in 1981 and 1986. He was also a finalist for the award on three separate occasions. The five-time CFL all-star was inducted into the Winnipeg Football Club Hall of Fame in 1990 and the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 1998.

“Joe Poplawski wasn’t just a great Blue Bomber, he has long been a great citizen of Winnipeg and an outstanding person,” said Blue Bombers President and CEO Wade Miller. “The Winnipeg Football Club is thrilled to add him to our Ring of Honour along with the other legends of the franchise.”

Poplawski will enter the Ring of Honour on Friday, Oct. 28 when the Blue Bombers finish their regular season home schedule against the B.C. Lions.

Winnipeg opened the Ring of Honour in 2016 and inducted nine inaugural members. They have added one name in each subsequent year with the previous inductees including Chris Walby, Ken Ploen, Gerry James, Milt Stegall, Dieter Brock, Leo Lewis, Bud Grant, Herb Gray, Doug Brown, Jack Jacobs, Fritz Hanson, Bob Cameron, and Bob Irving.