Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame to induct 1990 Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Screenshot courtesy: CBC

The 1990 Winning Blue Bombers are being inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame, it was announced on Tuesday.

The team finished atop the East Division standings with a 12-6 record that year, earning the right to host the East Final. They erased a fourth-quarter deficit to defeat the Toronto Argonauts in that game before dominating the Edmonton Football Team in the 78th Grey Cup in Vancouver by a score of 50-11.

Quarterback Tom Burgess was named the game’s Most Valuable Player on offence after throwing three touchdown passes, while linebacker Greg Battle was named Most Valuable Player on defence for recording a 34-yard pick-six. Fullback Warren Hudson was named Most Valuable Canadian after he scored two touchdowns, one rushing and one receiving.

Winnipeg had eleven East Division all-stars that year, including Burgess, running back Robert Mimbs, Hudson, receiver Rick House, offensive linemen Lyle Bauer and Chris Walby, linebackers Tyrone Jones and Battle, defensive backs Less Browne and Rod Hill, and punter Bob Cameron. Mimbs, Walby, Battle, Browne, Hill, and Cameron were also named all-stars at the league level.

It was a banner year for Battle as he was also named the CFL’s Most Outstanding Defensive Player that season, while head coach Mike Riley was awarded the Annis Stukus Trophy as the CFL’s Coach of the Year.

Riley left the Blue Bombers not long after the 78th Grey Cup to join the World League of American Football. He finished his four-year tenure in Winnipeg with a 40-32 regular season record, two Grey Cup championships, and two Coach of the Year awards.

The team’s Grey Cup victory in 1990 marked their third championship in a seven-year period, though it would be their last title for almost three decades.

The Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame has previously inducted the Blue Bombers teams from 1935, 1939, 1941, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1984, and 1988, all of which won the Grey Cup.

“We are honoured to announce a new slate of inspiring and deserving inductees to the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame. These inductees have cultivated outstanding careers with remarkable stories throughout their journeys, and have certainly earned this recognition. As we reflect on their impactful contributions to sport, we want to congratulate the class of 2022 on your upcoming inductions,” said Sport Manitoba president and CEO Janet McMahon in a statement.

Others who have been selected for induction this year are as follows: Don Baizley, builder, hockey; Halldor Bjarnason, athlete, cerebral palsy tricycling; Andrea Ferguson, athlete, ringette; Patrick Jebbison, athlete, basketball; and Michelle Sawatzky-Koop, athlete, volleyball.

The induction ceremony will be held on Thursday, Nov. 3 at 7:00 p.m. CT at the Victoria Inn in Winnipeg.