3DownNation contributors choose award winners for CFL season so far

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/CFLPhotoArchive.com

The first two-thirds of the 2022 CFL season is in the books, which means it’s time to project who could be taking home hardware at the end of the year.

These selections were made by soliciting nominations from 3DownNation contributors and using them to create a ballot with between five and eight candidates for each award. The contributors completed the ballots by selecting a winner in each category as well as one alternate, which generated the results you see below.

We have listed runners-up for each award in order of how many votes they received from most to fewest. Unlike the CFL’s year-end award qualification process, divisions were not taken into account.

This is the second time we have voted on year-end awards this season as we previously held a vote after the first third of the season.

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/CFLPhotoArchive.com

Most Outstanding Rookie — REC Dalton Schoen, Winnipeg Blue Bombers

The six-foot-one, 218-pound target has cooled off slightly over the past few weeks but remains the league’s seventh-leading receiver with 43 receptions for 767 yards and nine touchdowns. He leads his team in all relevant receiving categories and is tied for B.C.’s Dominique Rhymes for the most touchdown receptions in the CFL.

Runners-up: SAM Titus Wall, Calgary Stampeders; RB Peyton Logan, Calgary Stampeders; SAM Donald Rutledge Jr., Winnipeg Blue Bombers; Frankie Hickson, Saskatchewan Roughriders.

Photo: Larry MacDougal/3DownNation. All rights reserved.

Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman — LT Derek Dennis, Calgary Stampeders

The 34-year-old is playing his first CFL season since 2019 but hasn’t skipped a beat, securing the left side of Calgary’s offensive line. The Stampeders have allowed only 12 sacks through 11 games this season and lead the league with an average of 5.7 yards per rush. Dennis previously won this award in 2016.

Runners-up: LT Stanley Bryant, Winnipeg Blue Bombers; RT Julian Good-Jones, Calgary Stampeders; RT Kent Perkins, B.C. Lions; RG Dariusz Bladek, Toronto Argonauts.

Photo: Larry MacDougal/3DownNation. All rights reserved.

Most Outstanding Special Teams Player — K Rene Paredes, Calgary Stampeders

The eleven-year veteran just continues to get better with age, connecting on 34-of-38 field goal attempts (89.5 percent) and all 27 of his converts. He set a new career long of 53 yards in Week 8 against the Winnipeg Blue Bombers and continues to give Calgary a steady leg on special teams. Paredes previously won this award in 2013.

Runners-up: KR Chandler Worthy, Montreal Alouettes; KR Lawrence Woods III, Hamilton Tiger-Cats; P Richie Leone, Ottawa Redblacks.

Photo courtesy: Paul Yates/B.C. Lions

Most Outstanding Canadian — QB Nathan Rourke, B.C. Lions

The native of Victoria, B.C. is still the heavy favourite to win this award, which is pretty remarkable considering he only played nine games before undergoing what was likely season-ending surgery on his foot. He went 8-1 as a starter for the Lions prior to getting hurt, completing 79.2 percent of his passes for 3,281 yards, 25 touchdowns, and 10 interceptions and rushing 39 times for 304 yards and seven touchdowns.

Runners-up: DL Mathieu Betts, B.C. Lions; LB Cameron Judge, Calgary Stampeders; REC Kian Schaffer-Baker, Saskatchewan Roughriders; REC Kurleigh Gittens Jr., Toronto Argonauts.

Photo: Bob Butrym/3DownNation. All rights reserved.

Most Outstanding Defensive Player — LB Wynton McManis, Toronto Argonauts

The weak-side linebacker has been all over the field for the Argos this season, recording 72 defensive tackles, seven special teams tackles, three sacks, one interception, one forced fumble, and one touchdown. He has seven more total tackles than any other player in the league and is a big part of the reason Toronto’s defence ranks fourth in points allowed per game and takeaways.

Runners-up: DL Lorenzo Mauldin IV, Ottawa Redblacks; DB Deatrick Nichols, Winnipeg Blue Bombers; LB Larry Dean, Saskatchewan Roughriders; DL Pete Robertson, Saskatchewan Roughriders; LB Adam Bighill, Winnipeg Blue Bombers; LB Cameron Judge, Calgary Stampeders; DL Shawn Lemon, Calgary Stampeders. 

Courtesy: AP Photo/Larry MacDougal

Most Outstanding Player — QB Zach Collaros, Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Only four players in CFL history have ever repeated as league M.O.P. but our voters believe Zach Collaros deserves to be the fifth following another great season in Winnipeg. The 34-year-old has completed 69.5 percent of his passes for 2,963 yards, 22 touchdowns, and 10 interceptions this season while leading his team to a stellar 11-1 record.

Runners-up: QB Nathan Rourke, Winnipeg Blue Bombers; RB Ka’Deem Carey, Calgary Stampeders.