Trailblazers Kristie Elliott, Emmarae Dale highlight Team Canada roster for IFAF Women’s World Championship

Photo courtesy: Bob Butrym/Football Canada

Football Canada has unveiled the 45-player roster that will represent the country at the IFAF Women’s World Championship in Finland this summer.

136 athletes took part in the National Team Identification Camp early this month in Ottawa as part of the first-ever National Women’s Football Weekend. 81 players were selected to compete in the Red-White Game to close out the event, with 45 of those women earning a chance to go for gold as part of Team Canada.

Among those selected were female football trailblazers Emmarae Dale and Kristie Elliott.

Dale, a five-foot-seven, 185-pound linebacker, became the first woman to play in the Canadian Junior Football League when she suited up for the Saskatoon Hilltops in August. She played four games for the team in 2021, making eight tackles.

One month later, Elliott became the first Canadian woman to record a point in an NCAA football game. The Simon Fraser University kicker finished the season 3-of-5 on field-goal attempts and 9-of-11 on extra points, tied for the lead in scoring on Canada’s only NCAA team with 18 points.

The full team roster can be found here:

 Name                        Team 

Backlund, Andrea Manitoba Fearless
Brunet, Rose-Amélie Moncton Vipers
Chevrier, Annabelle Montreal Blitz
Dale, Emmarae Saskatoon Hilltops (M)
Davidson, Amanda Toronto Storm
Drouin, Nicole Manitoba Fearless
Duchesneau, Joanie Montreal Blitz
Dyce, Brooklyn Manitoba Fearless
Eggie, Hallie Manitoba Fearless
Elliott, Kristie Simon Fraser University (M)
Falardeau, Myranda Calgary Rage
Ferguson, Lauren Saskatoon Valkyries
Funk, Alyssa Saskatoon Valkyries
Girolami, Haley Saskatoon Valkyries
Graves, Trina Saint John Storm
Holynski, Danaye Saskatoon Valkyries
Kliewer, Arden Saskatoon Valkyries
Koutsogiannopolous, Rebekah Regina Riot
Kowalski, Alex Regina Riot
Lacasse, Maude Montreal Blitz
LaLonde, Beth Saskatoon Valkyries
Léo, Harmine Christina Montreal Blitz
Mawdsley, Betsy Saskatoon Valkyries
McCombs, Kasey Regina Riot
Mcewen, Hanna Texas Elite Spartans
Muhindo, Nura Manitoba Fearless
Nash, Kendra Calgary Rage
O’Driscoll, Brigitte Montreal Blitz
Obed, Ricki Saskatoon Valkyries
Ondo, Alexandra uOttawa Rugby
P. Bélanger, Emilie Montreal Blitz
Petrinchuk, Quinn Regina Riot
Poisson-Vecchio, Ophélia Montreal Blitz
Pontbriand, Laurence Montreal Blitz
Raffey, Hailee Regina Riot
Rioux, Shanelle Regina Riot
Roberge, Virginie Montreal Blitz
Roussel, Virginie Montreal Blitz
Schaffer, Rae-Lynn Regina Riot
Sprague, Julie Manitoba Fearless
Thorstad, Reed Saskatoon Valkyries
Viklund, Ashley Saskatoon Valkyries
Vogel, Chantal Calgary Rage
Ward, Breanne Texas Elite Spartans
Wright, Sarah Saskatoon Valkyries

Reserves List 

Andrews, Chris Regina Riot
Big Swallow, Samantha Edmonton Storm
Bouchard, Brenna Edmonton Storm
Décary-Corbeil, Rebecca Montreal Blitz
Goldsney, Emma Calgary Rage
Gomes, Lisa Calgary Rage
Goulard, Jolene Lethbridge Steel
Jaworski, Pat Calgary Rage
Kennedy, Baylie Edmonton Storm
Matheson, Sam Saskatoon Valkyries
O’Toole, Bethany Saint John Storm
St. Jean, Genevieve Montreal Blitz

The IFAF Women’s World Championship will be held in Vantaa, Finland from July 28 to August 8. Team Canada will compete in the tournament along with defending champions Team USA, as well as teams from Finland, Mexico, Sweden, Australia, Germany and Great Britain.