Blue Bombers complete comeback, beat hometown Ticats to win 108th Grey Cup

Photo courtesy: CFL

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers have defeated the Hamilton Tiger-Cats in overtime by a score of 33-25 to capture the 108th Grey Cup at Tim Hortons Field. The wind was a factor throughout the game as gusts blew at speeds of up to 50 kilometres per hour at field level.

The Blue Bombers held a 4-0 lead at the end of the first quarter with Sergio Castillo making a 38-yard field goal and Marc Liegghio scoring a rouge on a punt single. The Ticats managed just 13 offensive yards in the opening frame, as Alden Darby intercepted Hamilton quarterback Dane Evans after the ball was tipped at the line of scrimmage.

Evans left the game with an apparent neck injury midway through the second quarter and was replaced by Jeremiah Masoli, who was pulled early in the East Final following a poor start. The nine-year veteran led two quick scoring drives, including a 12-yard touchdown pass to Steven Dunbar Jr. to take a 10-7 lead before halftime.

Hamilton had the wind in the third quarter and made the most of it with Masoli tossing an eleven-yard touchdown to Brandon Banks. Winnipeg got a 15-yard field goal from Castillo before Zach Collaros threw a pair of interceptions to strong-side linebacker Kameron Kelly. The home-side led the game 19-10 going into the fourth quarter.

The Ticats drove deep into Winnipeg territory to start the fourth quarter, but only came away with a ten-yard field goal. Castillo booted a 20-yard field goal for Winnipeg before Collaros connected with Nic Demski for a 29-yard touchdown. Castillo and Michael Domagala exchanged late field goals to send the game to overtime tied at 25-25.

Collaros hit Darvin Adams for a 13-yard touchdown pass in the first round of overtime, followed by a three-yard pass to Rasheed Bailey for the two-point conversion to make the score 33-25. Masoli was intercepted on their possession by Kyrie Wilson, finalizing the score at 33-25.

Winnipeg and Hamilton met in the 2019 Grey Cup with the Blue Bombers upsetting the Ticats by a score of 33-12. Andrew Harris was named the game’s MVP after recording 169 yards and two touchdowns on 23 touches, snapping Winnipeg’s 29-year championship drought.

It was his fellow Oak Park high school alumni Nic Demski who took home the Most Valuable Canadian honours in the rematch after recording four catches for 27 yards and the pivotal fourth quarter interception. Quarterback Zach Collaros was named the game’s MVP, completing 21-of-32 passes for 240 yards, two touchdowns and two interceptions.

This was the first Grey Cup played at Tim Hortons Field since the facility opened in 2014 following the demolition of Ivor Wynne Stadium. It was also the first Grey Cup played in Hamilton since 1996 when Toronto defeated Edmonton by a score of 43-37 in one of the most iconic championship games in CFL history.