Bodog installs Ed Hervey as favourite to become next GM of Edmonton Elks

Photo courtesy: CFL

Bodog Canada has installed Ed Hervey as the favourite to become the next general manager of the Edmonton Elks.

The 48-year-old served as the general manager in Edmonton for four seasons (2013-16) during which the club compiled a 40-32 regular season record, making three postseason appearances and winning the 103rd Grey Cup. He was fired in April 2017 after clashing with then-president Len Rhodes, who departed the organization in February 2019.

Hervey has been been floated as a candidate to take over as the club’s new general manager following the firing of Brock Sunderland. His two-year stint as the general manager of the B.C. Lions didn’t end well, but Hervey still lives in Edmonton and has brought success to the organization in the past.

Prior to entering personnel, Hervey played receiver in Edmonton for eight seasons (1999-2006) and recorded 476 receptions for 6,715 yards and 43 touchdowns. He also won two Grey Cups as a player in 2003 and 2005.

Bodog has listed a number of other veteran personnel men as possibilities to earn the job in Edmonton. 3DownNation‘s John Hodge generated a list of twelve candidates for the Elks to consider, though interviews aren’t expected to get underway until December.

Ed Hervey +200

Ted Goveia +325

Ryan Rigmaiden +375

Chris Jones +500

Drew Allemang +550

Danny McManus +550

Spencer Zimmerman +550

Goveia is Winnipeg’s senior assistant general manager, Rigmaiden is B.C.’s director of U.S. scouting, Jones is Toronto’s defensive coordinator, Allemang is Hamilton’s senior director of personnel & co-manager of football operations, McManus is Winnipeg’s assistant general manager, and Zimmerman has recently served in front offices in Hamilton and Toronto.

Click here to place your bets on who will become the next general manger of the Edmonton Elks.

Bodog also has lines regarding who will replace Jaime Elizondo as the team’s next head coach, including such candidates as Chris Jones, Mark Washington, Mark Kilam, Buck Pierce, Tommy Condell, A.J. Gass, and Wally Buono.