Redblacks make four more cuts, finalize practice roster

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/

The Ottawa Redblacks have made more moves ahead of the CFL roster deadline on Friday night, releasing four more players and adding 16 to the practice roster.

In addition to the cuts made by the team on Thursday, Ottawa has released a trio of Canadians in veteran defensive back Nate Hamlin, receiver Wesley Lewis and linebacker Kean Harelimana. Also cut was American offensive tackle Josh Dunlop.

The following players have joined the team’s practice roster:

American QB Taryn Christion (South Dakota State)

American WR Rafael Araujo-Lopes (Pittsburgh)

American DB Brandin Dandridge (Missouri Western State)

American RB Justin Davis (USC)

American DL Darius Jackson (Jacksonville State)

American OL Jamar McGloster (Syracuse)

American DB Brad Muhammad (Florida International)

American LB Shaheed Salmon (Samford)

American WR Jerminic Smith (Southwest Baptist)

National OL Ketel Asse (Laval)

National DL Reshaan Davis (Ottawa)

National WR Michael Klukas (Calgary)

National DL Clement Lebreux (Laval)

Global K Jose Maltos (Nueva Leon – Mexico)

Global WR Guillermo Villalobos (Itesm Toluca – Mexico)

Global DB Tony Anderson (Grand View – France)

The club also announced that National fullback Mitch Raper has been suspended, while Global offensive lineman Chris Ferguson of the Bahamas has retired.