No 13th man: Riders are final team to trim roster ahead of 2021 season

The Saskatchewan Roughriders have made their final roster cuts ahead of the CFL’s cutdown deadline, the last team in the league to do so.

Most notably, former first-round NFL draft pick Paxton Lynch survived the cut and made the Riders roster as the third quarterback. Other players were not so lucky.

The following players were released by the club:

  • American defensive back Jeremy Clark
  • National offensive lineman Carter Comeau
  • American quarterback Tom Flacco
  • American offensive lineman Antonio Garcia
  • American defensive back Deiondre Hall
  • American defensive lineman Demetrius Harris
  • American wide receiver Carlos Henderson
  • National defensive back Jacob Janke
  • American defensive back Lorenzo Jerome
  • American wide receiver Charone Peake
  • American linebacker Michael Pinckney
  • National fullback David Savard
  • American wide receiver Randy Satterfield
  • American defensive lineman Sterling Shippy
  • American defensive back Michael Stevens
  • American wide receiver Jordan Suell
  • American defensive back DQ Thomas
  • American running back Ralph Webb

Additionally, the following players were assigned to the practice roster:

  • American defensive back Christian Campbell
  • National defensive lineman Alain Cimankinda
  • National defensive lineman Charbel Dabire
  • American quarterback Mason Fine
  • American linebacker DeMarquis Gates
  • American offensive lineman Cameron Jefferson
  • American defensive lineman Anthony Lanier II
  • American offensive lineman Andrew Lauderdale
  • American wide receiver Ricardo Louis
  • American wide receiver Paul McRoberts
  • American running back Jamal Morrow
  • National wide receiver Kian Schaffer-Baker
  • Global punter Ben Scruton
  • American linebacker Matthew Thomas
  • American defensive back Damon Webb

 The Riders also announced that Canadian linebacker A.J. Allen and offensive lineman Logan Bandy would be returning to school.