Three former UBC football players, including Stampeders receiver Trivel Pinto, charged with sexual assault

Photo courtesy: Thunderbirds Athletics

Three former University of British Columbia football players have been charged with sexual assault in relation to a 2018 incident in Vancouver.

The British Columbia Prosecution Service has approved charges against the three men allegedly involved in the assault: Tremont Levy, 26, Trivel Pinto, 25, and Ben Cummings, 24, have each been charged with one count each of sexual assault. Levy has been charged with one count of voyeurism in addition to the sexual assault charge.

Just before 4:30 a.m. on November 5, 2018, University Royal Canadian Mounted Police received a 911 call from a woman who reported she had been sexually assaulted by three men, at the residence in Vancouver on Acadia Road.

The University RCMP immediately launched an investigation and sought assistance and expertise from the BC RCMP Major Crime Section, who took conduct of the investigation.

We understand there may be questions related to the circumstances around this assault but we respect that this matter now is before the court, as such no further information will be provided, Sanjaya Wijayakoon superintendent of the BC RCMP MCS said in a statement.

Our priority at this time is to prepare for, and to continue to provide support for the victim through the upcoming court process.

The three men have been arrested and remain in police custody at this time. They are expected to appear in a Richmond Provincial court at a later date.

Pinto was selected in the second round, 12th overall during the 2020 CFL draft and signed with the Stamps on January 8, 2021. In February 2019, he was suspended two years and bumped from the 2019 CFL Draft after testing positive for cocaine.

The Toronto native made 234 receptions for 3,324 yards and 30 touchdowns in 41 games over his four-year career (2015-2018) at UBC. Pinto was a first-team all-Canadian in both 2017 and 2018 and was a member of the Thunderbird’s Vanier Cup championship team in 2015.