2013 Grey Cup champion Roughriders inducted into Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame

Photo courtesy: Saskatchewan Roughriders

One of the greatest teams in Saskatchewan Roughriders history is finally where it belongs.

The Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame announced its 2021 induction class on Thursday, enshrining the 2013 Grey Cup champion Saskatchewan Roughriders into the hallowed halls in the team category.

Other inductees include wrestler Justin Abdou, trapshooter Rod Boll, track and cross-country skier Colette Bourgonje, soccer player Kaylyn Kyle, bobsledder Lyndon Rush, hockey builder Shannon Miller, and the 2000-01 University of Regina Cougars Women’s Basketball Team.

An official induction date will be announced when allowable under COVID restrictions.

Led by coach of the year Corey Chamblin, the 2013 Riders entered the playoffs as the second seed in the West Division with an 11-7 record. Despite losing six of their final nine regular season games, including the last two, the Riders knocked off the B.C. Lions and Calgary Stampeders to advance to the 101st Grey Cup at home in Regina

The team decisively knocked off the Hamilton Tiger-Cats 45-23 at Taylor Field to capture the franchise’s fourth championship. Korey Sheets was named the game’s Most Valuable Player after setting a Grey Cup record by rushing for 197 yards and scoring two touchdowns. Receiver Chris Getzlaf took home Most Valuable Canadian honours.

Along with Sheets and Getzlaf, the 2013 Riders were led by talented fan favourites like quarterback Darian Durant, receiver Weston Dressler, safety Tyron Brackenridge and defensive end John Chick. 2013 Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman Brendon LaBatte and centre Dan Clark remain the only two players still on the team in 2021.