Edmonton extends REC Tevaun Smith, LB Vontae Diggs and K Sean Whyte

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/CFLPhotoArchive.com

The Edmonton Football Team has extended the contracts of national receiver Tevaun Smith, American linebacker Vontae Diggs and national kicker Sean Whyte through the 2021 season.

Smith was a first-round pick, eighth overall in the 2016 CFL draft. He spent three seasons in the NFL between the Indianapolis Colts, Oakland Raiders, and Jacksonville Jaguars before arriving in Edmonton in 2019. In his first season with the Green and Gold, Smith caught 55 passes for 632 yards and six touchdowns.

Diggs will be entering his second full season with the club after being named the team’s Most Outstanding Rookie last season. He recorded 84 total tackles, two sacks, one interception, and one forced fumble in 2019 from the weak-side linebacker position.

Whyte has never had a field goal percentage below 87 percent with Edmonton. In his 11-year CFL career, the B.C. native has accumulated 1,415 points and holds the EE Football Team record for consecutive field goals made at 25.

Edmonton also inked national fullback Tanner Green and national defensive back Scott Nutter through the 2023 and 2022 seasons, respectively.

Green was a fourth-round pick, 32nd overall in the 2018 CFL draft. The Lacombe, Alta. product has since become an important special teams player, recording 19 special teams tackles in 20 games.

Hutter was a sixth-round pick, 50th overall in the 2019 CFL draft. In eight career CFL games, the Wilfred Laurier product has recorded 11 special teams tackles.