The dirty dozen: Edmonton re-signs twelve, including several starters

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/

The Edmonton Football Team evidently got a lot done over the holidays.

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/

The team has signed twelve players to contract extensions in addition to the new deals that were given to quarterback Trevor Harris and defensive end Kwaku Boateng.

The following four players were re-signed through 2022: national offensive lineman David Beard; American defensive back Jonathon Mincy; American defensive lineman Mike Moore; and national offensive lineman Jacob Ruby.

All players are projected to start in 2021 with Beard, Moore, and Ruby having been starters with the team in 2019. Mincy was signed in February 2020 to replace Josh Johnson at boundary cornerback.

The following eight players were re-signed through 2021: national defensive back Jermaine Gabriel; American receiver Rodney Smith; American linebacker Brandon Pittman; American receiver Shakeir Ryan; national receiver Danny Vandervoort; national linebacker Maxime Rouyer; national receiver Jimmy Ralph; and American receiver Josh Stangby.

Gabriel is a notable name as he should be in the mix to start at safety in 2020. Ralph is also worth highlighting as he had a standout career at the University of Alberta.

Christmas came late for fans of the Edmonton Football Team, but this list of re-signings appears more than worth the wait.