Riders’ veteran Charleston Hughes among newly-elected CFLPA player representatives

Photo Scott Grant / CFLPhotoArchive.com
Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/CFLPhotoArchive.com

The Canadian Football League Players’ Association has elected its team representatives for each of the nine CFL franchises.

Reps are voted on prior to the beginning of each season and must be conducted by a player representative whose term is about to expire or by another individual as designated by the president of the players’ union.

West Division: B.C. Lions, Canadian fullback David Mackie and American defensive back Aaron Grymes; Calgary Stampeders, American defensive back Jamar Wall and Canadian fullback Charlie Power; Edmonton Football Team, Canadian offensive linemen David Beard and Jacob Ruby; Saskatchewan Roughriders, American defensive linemen Charleston Hughes and Chad Geter; Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Canadian linebacker Thomas Miles American linebacker and Adam Bighill.

East Division: Hamilton Tiger- Cats, Canadian offensive linemen Chris Van Zeyl and Mike Filer; Toronto Argonauts, American linebacker Bear Woods and Canadian defensive back/linebacker Chris Ackie; Ottawa Redblacks, Canadian defensive backs Antoine Pruneau and JP Bolduc; Montreal Alouettes, Canadian linebackers Henoc Muamba and DJ Lalama.

The membership’s board of directors and executive members are voted on by the player representatives during elections held every two years at the players’ association’s annual general meeting. Star linebacker Solomon Elimimian was elected president in February.

The CFL Players’ Association was established in 1965 and since that time has represented the professional football players in the CFL with the objective of establishing fair and reasonable working conditions.