Burris, Hufnagel headline 2020 Canadian Football Hall of Fame inductees

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/CFLPhotoArchive.com

Six new members of the Canadian Football Hall of Fame were announced on Thursday, headlined by first-ballot inductee Henry Burris and legendary head coach/general manager John Hufnagel.

Clyde Brock was inducted after appearing in 196 contests with the Saskatchewan Roughriders. The offensive lineman was named a four-time league all-star and five-time West Division all-star, winning a Grey Cup in 1966. The former second-round NFL draft pick is now 79 years of age.

Photo Scott Grant / CFLPhotoArchive.com

Henry Burris appeared in 294 career games with Calgary, Saskatchewan, Hamilton, and Ottawa, winning three Grey Cups in five appearances. He threw for 63,639 yards over 18 seasons and remains the third-leading passer — and third-leading rusher among quarterbacks — in CFL history. He also captured the league’s Most Outstanding Player award on two occasions (2010, 2015).

Freddie Childress spent 13 seasons in the CFL, dressing for Shreveport, Birmingham, Calgary, and Saskatchewan. He was a six-time CFL all-star and was named the league’s Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman in 1998. The 53-year-old retired following the 2006 season after capturing two Grey Cups.

Photo Scott Grant / CFLPhotoArchive.com

John Hufnagel returned from an eight-year coaching stint in the NFL to become the head coach and general manager of the Calgary Stampeders in 2008. The team has since gone 155-58-3, by far the CFL’s best record over that time span. Though he gave up the role of head coach following the 2015 season, the 68-year-old remains the club’s general manager.

Larry Uteck was the head coach at Saint Mary’s from 1983 to 1997 and served as the school’s Athletic Director from 1995 to 2002. He was twice named the Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union’s Coach of the Year and led his team to three Vanier Cup appearances. The Atlantic Bowl was renamed the Uteck Bowl in 2003 to commemorate his life, which ended tragically in 2002 due to ALS.

Greg Vavra was a star at the University of Calgary, winning the Hec Crighton Trophy in 1983. He passed for 8,401 yards with the Dinos and would go on to throw for 3,236 yards in the CFL with the Stampeders, Lions, and Eskimos.