XFL suspending 2020 season due to coronavirus

The XFL is suspending its 2020 season because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Statement from commissioner Oliver Luck:

Currently, the XFL will not be playing its regular-season games. However, all players will be paid their base pay and benefits for the 2020 regular season. All XFL ticket holders will be issued refunds or credit toward future games. The XFL is committed to playing a full season in 2021 and future years.

As of Thursday evening, The Centers for Disease and Control and Prevention in the United States has confirmed 1,215 coronavirus cases in America. 42 states and the District of Columbia have reported COVID-19 cases with 36 people dying from the disease.

The XFL kicked off in February and has played five weeks of a planned 10-week schedule. Its eight franchises are based in major United States cities: Dallas Renegades, DC Defenders, Houston Roughnecks, Los Angeles Wildcats, New York Guardians, Seattle Dragons, St. Louis BattleHawks and Tampa Bay Vipers.

Former Hamilton Tiger-Cats and current Houston head coach June Jones has his Roughnecks team atop the XFL standings with a 5-0 record. A key part of the Roughnecks’ success has been the stellar play of quarterback P.J. Walker — the Ottawa Redblacks own his CFL negotiation list rights.

Former CFL players receivers S.J. Green, Armanti Edwards, and offensive lineman Derek Dennis had signed and were playing in the XFL.

The original XFL lasted one season in 2001.