Riders’ linebacker Solomon Elimimian elected CFLPA president

Photo courtesy: CFLPA

There’s a new man in charge of the CFL Players’ Association — Solomon Elimimian has been elected as CFLPA president.

“This new executive is made up of a majority of active players interested in the membership’s input and guidance to work together in moving our agenda forward in a positive way,” Elimimian said.

I am excited for the opportunity to work with this talented group of individuals to work together in adding value to the players and grow the game we all love.”

Elimimian was competing against Keon Raymond and retired Canadians Agustin Barrenechea and Peter Dyakowski for the job.

All of the candidates had lengthy playing careers in the CFL. Elimimian is the only strictly defensive player to win Most Outstanding Player, while Raymond won two Grey Cups as a key member of the Calgary Stampeders (2008 and 2014). Barrenechea was a stud Hamilton Tiger-Cats’ linebacker and Peter Dyakowski suited up for 10 seasons along the offensive line, nine in the Hammer and one on the prairies in Regina.

“On behalf of the CFLPA, I would like to thank our outgoing executive team for their tireless work and commitment toward advancing issues that impact CFL players,” said Brian Ramsay, the CFLPA’s Executive Director.

“I would also like to welcome and congratulate the incoming executive team that will lead our Association and serve our members over the next two years. I am confident this team can provide strong leadership and represent the needs of our membership.”

The rest of the new executive is as follow:

1st Vice President:             John Bowman
2nd Vice President:            Chad Rempel
3rd Vice President:             Ryan King
Treasurer:                           Peter Dyakowski
Executive Director:             Brian Ramsay

Justin Dunk is a football insider, sports reporter and anchor.