Argos release 12 players, including QB James Franklin and all-star calibre OL Sean McEwen

Photo courtesy: Scott Grant/

The Toronto Argonauts have released 12 players, including quarterback James Franklin and all-star calibre centre Sean McEwen.

Toronto acquired Franklin in December 2017 in a trade with the Edmonton Eskimos viewing the six-foot-two, 225-pound pivot as the Argos potential quarterback of the future. However, Franklin produced a 4-12 win-loss record as a starter for the Argos in difficult circumstances.

McEwen was selected by the Toronto Argonauts in the first round, third overall during the 2015 CFL draft. He played in all 18 regular season games for the boatmen in his rookie CFL season, starting 13 and earned the Argos Most Outstanding Rookie award. The 26-year-old McEwen has played in every single regular season game possible through his four-year CFL career — 72 total.

  • Canadian OL Sean McEwen – pending free agent
  • Canadian OL Tyler Holmes – pending free agent
  • Canadian DL Linden Gaydosh – non-pending free agent
  • Canadian WR Jimmy Ralph – pending free agent
  • Canadian K/P Zack Medeiros – pending free agent
  • American QB James Franklin – pending free agent
  • American QB Dakota Prukop – pending free agent
  • American DB Trumaine Washington – pending free agent
  • American RB Chris Rainey – pending free agent
  • American DB Kevin Fogg – pending free agent
  • American DB Jonathan Mincy – pending free agent
  • American K/P Donald De La Haye – pending free agent