Voted on by the players: the 2019 CFLPA all-star team

Photo courtesy: Matt Smith

The CFL Players’ Association has announced its 2019 CFLPA all-star team:

Quarterback Cody Fajardo Saskatchewan Roughriders
Offensive Tackle Chris Van Zeyl Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Offensive Tackle Stanley Bryant Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Offensive Guard Brandon Revenberg Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Offensive Guard Darius Ciraco Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Centre Ucambre Williams Calgary Stampeders
Running Back William Stanback Montreal Alouettes
Fullback Calvin McCarty Edmonton Eskimos
Slot Back Bryan Burnham BC Lions
Slot Back Reggie Begelton Calgary Stampeders
Wide Receiver Brandon Banks Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Wide Receiver Shaquelle Evans Saskatchewan Roughriders
Long Snapper Louis-Phillippe Bourassa Ottawa RedBlacks
Special Teams Michael Miller Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Defensive End Willie Jefferson Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Defensive End Charleston Hughes Saskatchewan Roughriders
Defensive Tackle Almondo Sewell Edmonton Eskimos
Defensive Tackle Dylan Wynn Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Middle Linebacker Adam Bighill Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Weakside Linebacker Simoni Lawrence Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Strongside Linebacker Derrick Moncrief Saskatchewan Rougriders
Cornerback Tre Roberson Calgary Stampeders
Cornerback Winston Rose Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Halfback Aaron Grymes Edmonton Eskimos
Halfback Ed Gainey Saskatchewan Roughriders
Safety Boseko Lokombo Montreal Alouettes
Punter Richie Leone Ottawa REDBLACKS
Place Kicker Sergio Castillo BC Lions
Head Coach:   Khari Jones Montreal Alouettes

These all-star nominations are regarded as one of the most prestigious awards a player can win as they receive votes from their peers.

This team was voted on by current members on the nine CFL member clubs with 430 ballots being cast.

Only players who have played 12 or more games during the season are eligible. Players may not vote for any player or coach who is a member of their own team.

This vote is unique in that the players only vote for the all-stars in the positions they go head-to-head with since they can best judge the abilities and skills of these players. For example, receivers and slotbacks are voted for by defensive backs. All players and coaches may vote for the head coach and special teams player.

The voting is conducted as follows: each player selects three players at the specified positions on their ballot and ranks them first through third. First place votes receive three points, second place votes receive two points and third place votes receive one point. After all votes are weighed, the players with the highest point totals for each position are named as CFLPA all-stars.