Photo Scott Grant / CFLPhotoArchive.com
Photo Scott Grant / CFLPhotoArchive.com

TSN live mic games are back.

The league and its primary broadcaster are going to air 18 live mic games during the 2019 season, including four featuring each CFL team.

The schedule for live mic games:

  • Monday, July 1 at 7 p.m. ET – Toronto Argonauts at Saskatchewan Roughriders
  • Saturday, July 6 at 7 p.m. ET – BC Lions at Toronto Argonauts
  • Saturday, July 13 at 4 p.m. ET – Montreal Alouettes at Ottawa Redblacks
  • Friday, July 19 at 8:30 p.m. ET – Ottawa Redblacks at Winnipeg Blue Bombers
  • Friday, July 26 at 7 p.m. ET – Winnipeg Blue Bombers at Hamilton Tiger-Cats
  • Saturday, Aug. 3 at 7 p.m. ET – Edmonton Eskimos at Calgary Stampeders
  • Friday, Aug. 9 at 7 p.m. ET – Saskatchewan Roughriders at Montreal Alouettes
  • Saturday, Aug. 17 at 4 p.m. ET – Hamilton Tiger-Cats at Ottawa Redblacks
  • Saturday, Aug. 24 at 10 p.m. ET – Hamilton Tiger-Cats at BC Lions
  • Monday, Sept. 2 at 4:30 p.m. ET – Edmonton Eskimos at Calgary Stampeders
  • Saturday, Sept. 7 at 7 p.m. ET – Calgary Stampeders at Edmonton Eskimos
  • Saturday, Sept. 14 at 7 p.m. ET – Montreal Alouettes at Saskatchewan Roughriders
  • Saturday, Sept. 21 at 4 p.m. ET – Winnipeg Blue Bombers at Montreal Alouettes
  • Saturday, Sept. 28 at 7 p.m. ET – Saskatchewan Roughriders at Toronto Argonauts
  • Saturday, Oct. 5 at 10 p.m. ET – Toronto Argonauts at BC Lions
  • Saturday, Oct. 12 at 7 p.m. ET – BC Lions at Edmonton Eskimos
  • Saturday, Oct. 19 at 4 p.m. ET – Ottawa Redblacks at Hamilton Tiger-Cats
  • Friday, Oct. 25 at 8:30 p.m. ET – Calgary Stampeders at Winnipeg Blue Bombers

The reason for increased live mic games: they provide a ratings bump. There have been nearly 10 per cent more average viewers in CFL matchups featuring “Live Mics.”

Both head coaches, starting quarterbacks and defensive leaders from each team will wear the “live mics”. There will be a 10-second delay so CFL and TSN representatives can monitor any potential foul language and use the mute button if needed.

TSN’s first ever live mic broadcast aired on Sunday, August 28, 2016, in a game between the Calgary Stampeders and Hamilton Tiger-Cats, the Stamps won 30-24.

“This Live Mic Broadcast is a next-level fan experience. Our viewers will feel like they’re standing right there in the huddle,” said Paul Graham, Vice-President and Executive Producer, Live Events, TSN in a statement when the progressive initiative was announced.

There has been some pushback from the teams in regards to wearing the live mics, the CFL fined the Edmonton Eskimos and Jason Maas for refusing to wear the mics in an October 2016 game in Montreal.

Comments