University of Calgary QB Adam Sinagra wins Hec Crighton award as best player in USports football

Calgary Dinos quarterback Adam Sinagra has captured the Hec Crighton Trophy as the most outstanding player in Canadian university football.

The announcement was made Thursday night at the annual U Sports football awards.

A fourth-year arts student from Pointe Claire, Que., Sinagra threw for a U Sports record 3,233 yards this year to lead the Dinos to an 8-0 record.

Sinagra beat out fellow quarterbacks Hugo Richard of the Laval Rouge et Or and Tre Ford of the Waterloo Warriors as well as St. Francis Xavier X-Men receiver Kaion Julien-Grant for the top honour.

The Western Mustangs, who face the host Rouge et Or in the Vanier Cup game on Saturday, had three individual winners. Linebacker Fraser Sopik took home the Presidents’ Trophy as stand-up defensive player of the year, defensive back Mackenzie Ferguson claimed the Russ Jackson Award for excellence in football, academics and citizenship and coach Greg Marshall copped the Frank Tindall Trophy as coach of the year.

Other winners were Laval defensive end (J.P. Metras Trophy, top lineman), Calgary receiver Tyson Philpot (Peter Gorman Trophy, rookie of the year) and Concordia Stingers assistant coach Peter Regimbald (Gino Fracas Award, volunteer coach of the year).

Laval led the way with eight players on the two all-Canadian teams.


Must Read