Seven players earn double team nominees for CFL awards

The CFL has unveiled the team nominees for the most outstanding player awards.

A total of seven players were double nominees: B.C. Lions kicker Ty Long (outstanding player, unanimously as special-teams player); Saskatchewan defensive lineman Willie Jefferson (top player, defensive player); Riders kicker Brett Lauther (unanimous as top Canadian, special-teams player); Winnipeg linebacker Adam Bighill (top player, unanimous as defensive player); Toronto centre Sean McEwen (top Canadian, lineman); Ottawa kicker Lewis Ward (unanimous as top rookie, special-teams player); and Montreal running back (rookie, special-teams player).

Mike Reilly (CFL-high 5,242 passing yards), the league’s outstanding player last season, was Edmonton’s nominee for the outstanding player honour. And Winnipeg running back Andrew Harris, the CFL’s top Canadian in 2017, was a unanimous pick as the Bombers’ nominee.

Ottawa slotback Brad Sinopoli, who has 116 catches – the most by a Canadian player in a CFL season – is the Redblacks’ nominee as top Canadian.

The division finalists will be announced next Thursday. The CFL will honour its top performers at its annual awards banquet Nov. 22 in Edmonton.

The respective nominees (*- denotes unanimous selection) are as follows:


Player: Ty Long

Defensive: Davon Coleman

Canadian: Bo Lokombo*

Offensive Lineman: Joel Figueroa*

Special Teams: Ty Long*

Rookie: Claudell Louis*


Player: Mike Reilly*

Defensive: J.C. Sherritt

Canadian: Kwaku Boateng

Offensive Lineman: Matt O’Donnell

Special Teams: Sean Whyte

Rookie: Monshadrik Hunter


Player: Bo Levi Mitchell*

Defensive: Micah Johnson*

Canadian: Alex Singleton*

Offensive Lineman: Derek Dennis*

Special Teams: Jameer Thurman

Rookie: Tre Roberson*


Player: Willie Jefferson

Defensive: Willie Jefferson

Canadian: Brett Lauther

Offensive Lineman: Brendon LaBatte*

Special Teams: Brett Lauther*

Rookie: Jordan Williams-Lambert*


Player: Adam Bighill

Defensive: Adam Bighill*

Canadian: Andrew Harris*

Offensive Lineman: Stanley Bryant

Special Teams: Justin Medlock

Rookie: Marcus Sayles


Player: Jeremiah Masoli

Defensive: Larry Dean*

Canadian: Ted Laurent

Offensive Lineman: Brandon Revenberg

Special Teams: Courtney Stephen*

Rookie: Darius Ciraco*


Player: S.J. Green

Defensive: Cleyon Laing

Canadian: Sean McEwen

Offensive Lineman: Sean McEwen

Special Teams: Justin Herdman

Rookie: Trumaine Washington*


Player: Trevor Harris

Defensive: Derico Murray

Canadian: Brad Sinopoli

Offensive Lineman: Alex Mateas

Special Teams: Lewis Ward*

Rookie: Lewis Ward*


Player: Henoc Muamba*

Defensive: Henoc Muamba*

Canadian: Henoc Muamba*

Offensive Lineman: Kristian Matte*

Special Teams: William Stanback

Rookie: William Stanback


Must Read