CFLPA votes to retain Jeff Keeping as president

It was a tight race, but Jeff Keeping remains president of the CFLPA.

The players’ association is holding its annual meeting in Niagara Falls this week and Keeping, the retired Canadian offensive lineman, was up against former Stampeders defender Keon Raymond for the top executive position.

First vice-president Marwan Hage was elected to remain in his role. There are two new members voted to the executive with the addition of Lions linebacker Solomon Elimimian as the second vice president, and B.C. fullback Rolly Lumbala as the third vice president. Peter Dyakowski of the Saskatchewan Roughriders has also been re-elected as treasurer of the CFLPA.

Keeping succeeded Scott Flory as president in 2016. Flory was in charge in 2014 during the last round of collective bargaining which saw the salary cap jump from $4.4 million to $5 million with increases of $50,000 annually over the five-year pact.

The current collective bargaining agreement expires in May 2019.