CFL names divisional all-stars

The Canadian Football League (CFL) announced the 2017 East and West Division All-Stars today. The Toronto Argonauts lead the way with 10 all-stars and the Calgary Stampeders and Winnipeg Blue Bombers lead the West Division with seven each.

The Division All-Stars were selected by members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and CFL head coaches.

During the offseason, the Football Operations Committee, comprised of team General Managers, approved alterations to the All-Star positons. In years past there were two running backs and four receivers; that has been changed to one running back and five receivers. Defensively there used to be three linebackers, and now there are two linebackers and a cover linebacker.

The East Division All-Stars were selected by the voting members of the FRC from the East Division markets, the National Chapter and the East Division head coaches.

The West Division All-Stars were selected by the voting members of the FRC from the West Division markets, the National Chapter and the West Division head coaches.

Ballots for the final round of CFL All-Stars voting will go out on Thursday. The CFL All-Stars will be announced in early December.

Below is the complete list of the 2017 East and West Division All-Stars.

*Denotes National Player

  WEST Division     EAST Division  
  Offence     Offence  
QB Mike Reilly EDM   Ricky Ray TOR
RB Andrew Harris* WPG   William Powell OTT
REC Brandon Zylstra EDM   Greg Ellingson OTT
REC Darvin Adams WPG   S.J. Green TOR
REC Duron Carter SSK   Brad Sinopoli* OTT
REC Bryan Burnham BC   Brandon Banks HAM
REC Naaman Roosevelt SSK   Luke Tasker HAM
OT Stanley Bryant WPG   Chris Van Zeyl* TOR
OT Jermarcus Hardrick WPG   Jason Lauzon-Séguin* OTT
OG Brendon LaBatte* SSK   Ryan Bomben* HAM
OG Matt O’Donnell* EDM   Alex Mateas* OTT
CEN Ucambre Williams CGY   Sean McEwen* TOR
  Defence     Defence  
DT Micah Johnson CGY   Dylan Wynn  TOR
DT Almondo Sewell EDM   Cleyon Laing*  TOR
DE Charleston Hughes CGY   Victor Butler  TOR
DE Willie Jefferson SSK   John Bowman  MTL
LB Alex Singleton* CGY   Larry Dean  HAM
LB Solomon Elimimian BC   Kyries Hebert  MTL
CLB Kenny Ladler EDM   Marcus Ball  TOR
CB Chris Randle WPG   Richard Leonard  HAM
CB Ciante Evans CGY   Jonathon Mincy  MTL
HB Ed Gainey SSK   Cassius Vaughn  TOR
HB T.J. Heath WPG   Rico Murray  TOR
S Taylor Loffler* WPG   Antoine Pruneau*  OTT
  Special Teams     Special Teams  
K Rene Paredes* CGY   Sergio Castillo  HAM
P Ty Long BC   Brett Maher  OTT
ST Roy Finch CGY   Diontae Spencer  OTT